Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to get an indexed object in COM

How to get an indexed object in COM

Hi,

I studied the examples but could not find an answer to the next question:

VBA example: ActiveWindow.Panes(2).Close

I have an indexed object in Word such as .....Panes(2)..... How can I both reference the index but also getting the object back with the OLE_Execute() statement.

Is that done with the %TB_DISPATCH_PROPERTYPUTREF constant?
    Kind regards<br /><br />Marcel

Re: How to get an indexed object in COM

Hi Marcel,

sorry, I don't know MS Word automation, could you please post a simple script sample that I can use to study the problem?

Thanks,
    Roberto
    http://www.thinbasic.com

Hello Roberto,

What I'm doing is translating some Word VBA code into thinBasic and see what problems I encounter. I manage in addressing the objects and properties just like the examples but I run into a fence when I have to get an indexed object (collection).

Attached Files Attached Files

Hi,

I did some more investigation and found that in this situation there is only one pane in Word. Therfore closing Pane(2) isn't possible and generates an error in VBA and so it will certainly do in thinBasic. In this example it not possible to check if Word is the problem or the thinBasic code.

I will create another example to test this adressing method.

This is a new version. It doesn't give a error but is also doesn't close the pane.

thinBasic MVPs

[code=thinbasic]
    ' if %wdPaneNone <> vRetVal then 'Check if there is a second pane and close it.

COM_Execute(pWdActWnd, "ActivePane", %TB_DISPATCH_PROPERTYGET, 0, 0, vRetVal)
    PWdActPane = vRetVal
    msgbox 0, "Activepane value: " & str$(vRetVal)
    COM_Execute(pWdActPane, "Close", %TB_DISPATCH_METHOD, 0, 0, 0)

' end if

[/code]

this works but I dont know why the if doesnt enter, if enabled.

Home Desktop : Windows 7 - Intel Pentium (D) - 3.0 Ghz - 2GB - Geforce 6800GS