Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

  1. #11

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Hi Michael,

    in order to fully appreciate the LAN module you should use it in PC powered by Windows XP Professional or (at least Windows 2000 Professional, Windows NT Workstation, Windows Me, Windows 98, or Windows 95), that's why I say:
    professional user
    ;D

    Unfortunatly Windows XP Home Edition isn't designed to work with Windows Server networks and also not includes capabilities for both small office networks with up to 10 PCs and Windows Server based networks

    In any case, here are the last minute addedd two function:

    • LAN_ConnectDialog() Open browsing dialog box for connecting to network resources
    • LAN_DisconnectDialog() Open browsing dialog box for disconnecting from network resources


    Thanks,
    Roberto
    http://www.thinbasic.com

  2. #12
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3,289
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    343

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Ok, sorry. Can't be a helping hand then.

  3. #13
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Naples, Florida & Duluth, Georgia
    Age
    65
    Posts
    3,869
    Rep Power
    401

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    I'm glad you guys clarified the professional vrs home versions as I fall into the same boat as Mike once I get my network back up.
    Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

  4. #14
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,089
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    725

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Hi,

    would it be possible to put some mention in help file in case command has some extra requirements ( hardware/software bindings) ?
    I know it is extra work on hard job which documentation already is, but I am sure it will make users feel safe when coding.


    Bye,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  5. #15
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    54
    Posts
    8,636
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    This module will be documented reporting Win9x/WinNT differences.
    Thanks
    Eros
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  6. #16
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3,289
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    343

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Quote Originally Posted by kryton9
    I'm glad you guys clarified the professional vrs home versions as I fall into the same boat as Mike once I get my network back up.

    By the way has anyone found good low cost maybe oem versions of windows xp professional, I was thinking of getting a few if reasonable price to cover my needs for the coming computers I hope to build.
    Don't go with an OEM version. I'm sure, just liek here, the full version aren't much more expensive. OEM version can only be installed on one machine. Once you replace a bigger part like the motherboard, then you are licking someones rearend to get them to reactivate your license.
    Been there went thnrough one time and now I have to buy a new version for my sons computer. Difference here XP home, OEM 80 EURO, full 120 EURO.

  7. #17
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,427
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    157

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    I was looking at prices in the UK and almost fell off my chair when I saw how versions of vista are on sale

    http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Softw...ating+Systems/

    So many versions and I am still not interested. ;D
    Home Desktop : Windows 7 - Intel Pentium (D) - 3.0 Ghz - 2GB - Geforce 6800GS
    Home Laptop : WinXP Pro SP3 - Intel Centrino Duo - 1.73 Ghz - 2 GB - Intel GMA 950
    Home Laptop : Windows 10 - Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz, 2401 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s) - 4 GB - Intel HD 4400
    Work Desktop : Windows 10 - Intel I7 - 4 Ghz - 8GB - Quadro Fx 370

  8. #18

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    I agree, too many versions confuse only the ideas!
    But what it leaves me astonished are the following prices:

    Windows Vista Business 32bit OEM 71.50
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional OEM 73.00

    This is an excellent marketing example how to discourage the purchase of a product in favor of another.

    Ciao,
    Roberto
    http://www.thinbasic.com

  9. #19

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Thanks for the tip, Mike.

    I'm still running Windows 2000 Professional at home, and while I have XP at work, I don't really see much that is different. I was thinking of upgrading my home computer to XP, mainly because I've run across some programs that only run on XP.

    I've been shying away from Vista because I've heard it is a real pig for resources. I like thin and light! I imagine I will be reluctantly forced into Vista at some point.

    Of course, this is the same feeling that was prevalent years ago when Windows first came out. Prior to Windows, all PC programs ran in DOS. At the time, the Intel 286 processor was common and the 386 processor was just coming out. The 386 processor was a highly desired upgrade for improved performance. I was on a team developing a new application and a debate ensued whether to develop for DOS or Windows. I recall one programmer emphatically stating that Windows was the best way he knew to turn his new 386 into a 286, meaning Windows was such a pig (compared to DOS) that it would suck the life out of his shiny new processor chip. By the way, he was over-ruled by the boss, and we developed the application for Windows using Visual Basic version 1.0.

    So, I hear these stories about Vista being a resource pig, and I think it is going to suck the life out of my computer. I haven't seen anything in Vista that compels me to go out and buy it. But no worries, Microsoft will probably have to develop and sell some new OS versions, just to keep the revenues up. Perhaps they will develop some niche version targeted to people like me who want something stripped-down and fast.

    Randall

  10. #20

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Speaking about DOS and windows..... Does anyone remember the debate about which would be better.... a graphical OS or a text based OS? I remember that someone tried to make a text based OS for a while (read very short while) but it didn't make it very long at all. I just can't remember who wrote it or why it failed.

    Thanks
    Sandy

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WMI module: some preview vaporware
    By ErosOlmi in forum WMI
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15-10-2007, 16:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •