Thread: Probably my mistake, but...

Probably my mistake, but...

I'm very new to thinBasic, I really like it so far, but when trying to use thinBundle, I can't get anything to run at all.

Example, opening the Service_List_Local.tbasic file from the OS folder under SampleScripts, I select Tools, Bundle, pick an output folder, then click Make. I then navigate to that folder and try to run the Service_List_Local.exe file, and nothing happens. I have view hidden files turned on in Explorer, so I can see the files get written, and if I run the FF.tbasic file, it launches just fine. I've tried simple console apps with the same results.

Am I missing something in the thinBundle window? I'm using the current preview version - 1.4.0.1.

Thanks
    Matt

Re: Probably my mistake, but...

Hello Matt and a big welcome here.

This preview version can't create a bundle right now. Usually it can but because of previous holidays, the security functions in thinBundle still need to be updated to the current version of tB. If you need a bundle right now, you have to use the stable version. I'm sure that Eros and Roberto will make this function working again soon.

Anyway, if you have questions about thinBasic or something else, just ask. We are all here to help each other. Where did you heard of thinBasic?

Best wishes
    Michael

Hi Matt,

no, it is not your mistake. As Mike already said, thinBundle is not working in thinBasic preview version 1.4.0.1
    Reason is that we had to switch off security in thinCore.dll (main thinBasic engine) for the holiday period. Roberto and I will recover this by the end of September when the new stable version will be out and a new preview version will start.

In the meanwhile you can either:
    • use preview version with plain scripts if scripts need functionalites present in 1.4.0.1
    • if script you want to bundle does not need 1.4.0.1 functionalities, install stable version 1.4.0.0 and than bundle