Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: TopDown3D [Instant] status

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,080
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    725

    TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Hi,

    just to inform you - sources survived
    I am now making the game more compact + adding some features to make it look more profi ( no MSGBOXes, improved splash screen mechanism ). Now I am re-orienting in the source and I hope to release Alpha 3 in 2 weeks at maximum.
    New ships are so nice...


    Bye,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  2. #2
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3,289
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    343

    Re: TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Looking forward to it

  3. #3
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Naples, Florida & Duluth, Georgia
    Age
    64
    Posts
    3,869
    Rep Power
    401

    Re: TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Thanks Petr, glad the new ships are working out OK.

    What else do you need from us in the meantime? Since you are testing it and developing it you might say, oh this would be neat if we had it etc. Let us know.
    Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,080
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    725

    Re: TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Hi,

    #1 is to cleanup the source. But thats my job

    But if you have time, it would be nice to:
    • Have some nice but unique BMP font for text
    • Think of how lives/score will be displayed
    • Model ultra low poly shots ( will be transparent in engine), as flat 2D shots look silly now


    I am also thinking of making ship files like INI file ( sections [Engine], [Gun*], ...), instead of current weird fileformat.


    Thanks,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  5. #5
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Naples, Florida & Duluth, Georgia
    Age
    64
    Posts
    3,869
    Rep Power
    401

    Re: TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Petr, the way bmp fonts are handled don't seem standard to other systems. I understand how your way makes sense, but I went through some tutorials and they are different. I did clean up the existing bmp font as I noticed artifacts on some characters, I don't know if you noticed the new ones don't have any.

    I will work on some as the format is now.

    I didn't understand about the low poly comment? Can you clarify?

    The ini files work really well. I am all for using that everywhere!!
    Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

  6. #6
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Naples, Florida & Duluth, Georgia
    Age
    64
    Posts
    3,869
    Rep Power
    401

    Re: TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Guys I found this great free font site tonight.
    http://www.thealmightyguru.com/Games.../Fonts-AE.html

    I decided to work on a program to make bmp fonts from true type fonts.
    But thought I would wait to see if you guys thought we need that? tbgl has a font command to convert true type font to bitmap.
    Can we use that to export out to a bmp, or just simple print out to a 2d screen and then do a bmp save as tbgl has?

    The only thing wrong with Petr's existing font code is, he uses the whole 0-255 character set. In a 256x256 texture, this means each letter gets 16x16
    pixels. By going with less characters as other game font programs do, we can do 64 characters at 32 x32 and hence get a nicer look to the fonts on the screen.


    I will wait till you guys comment on all of this.
    Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

  7. #7
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3,289
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    343

    Re: TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Nice font site. Bookmarked it right away. Of course a Fontmaker prog is allways welcome. If you could ad effects like outline, then it would be really cool.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,080
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    725

    Re: TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Hi,

    thanks for your replies

    kryton, I use one free czech program to generate fonts for me. I know you don't want to learn Czech language right now ;D, but interface is very easy.

    Get program here: http://nehe.ceske-hry.cz/download/pr...nt_creator.rar

    [-F-] icon allows to select font
    [-S-] to cast basic shadow
    [-+-] ( grid icon ) adds grid

    To save result, just use menu "Soubor/Uložit jako"

    Reasons why I use full 256 characters are multiple, but you can for example use some characters as tiles for GUI...

    I have planned to create similar program during summer holidays, as it is very important tool for TBGL. PowerBASIC has some nice functions to make my work easy. And I am writing outlines on wishlist

    The site you posted link to is great, I need to explore it deeper !

    Regarding low poly shots ... its just about modeling the shot in 2D using as low number of polys as possible to look good. Just something like ellipsoid with "flamy" tail or something similar. Regarding texture I am not sure if to use fixed one, or let it be "animated" using environmental mapping.


    Thank you,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  9. #9
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Naples, Florida & Duluth, Georgia
    Age
    64
    Posts
    3,869
    Rep Power
    401

    Re: TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Petr, first thanks for the link and explanation of how to use it. I will give it a shot.

    Since you have other plans for the bmp fonts besides just being used as fonts, I understand why now you went the way you did and not follow the other standards I have seen.

    I think we are on 2 hills and you are shouting in one direction and I am on the other hill facing the other direction. I still don't understand about the low poly you need?

    The ships are all pretty low poly as are the space stations, except for maybe the one, but it still was not too bad. Do you want me to render them in high quality as I can in Blender and then make them like sprites?
    Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,080
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    725

    Re: TopDown3D [Instant] status

    Hi Kent,

    I'm sorry I speak weird :-[

    Current TopDown - shots are just sprites.

    Future TopDown Instant - shots to be polygonal objects to not look so flat.

    So I don't want anything to change on ships or on stations just new shots ( = lasers / bullets / projectiles - thats what ship shoots ).

    I hope it is clear now :-[


    Thanks and sorry,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Instant Action TopDown3D
    By kryton9 in forum Game general
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14-04-2007, 08:30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •