Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TopDown 3D: how to reduce needed ZIP size

  1. #1
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    54
    Posts
    8,636
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    TopDown 3D: how to reduce needed ZIP size

    I would like to use TopDown 3D as application (bundled exe) to get some interest in thinBasic community.
    Problem is that all the needed files inside a ZIP are about 9Mb. This due to all the nice backgrounds present in the game..

    I would like to reduce the size to max 3Mb max. I think it is a good size for asking people to download.
    Maybe all the other backgrounds can be included into a second ZIP file as bonus.

    What do you think?
    What to change in TopDown 3D in order to achieve this target?

    Thanks a lot
    Eros
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  2. #2
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3,289
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    344

    Re: TopDown 3D: how to reduce needed ZIP size

    Sound/music could be reduced in quality but still be good.

  3. #3
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    54
    Posts
    8,636
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: TopDown 3D: how to reduce needed ZIP size

    Every single byte will be important, thanks.
    Intro is now about 700Kb MP3

    I suppose the biggest change is relative to backgrounds implementing a clever function that loads only present backgrounds and still be open to load new backgrounds if found.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  4. #4
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3,289
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    344

    Re: Latest TopDown source release [ UPDATED 13th March 2007 ]

    Yip, we have to find a way to use PNG or JPG files. Besides the music, this could reduce file size big time.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,089
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    726

    Re: Latest TopDown source release [ UPDATED 13th March 2007 ]

    Hi Mike,

    I am observing PNG, it seems quite rich and complicated format.
    I could try to add support for RLE compressed BMPs to TBGL, will see how much it will improve size, but I am afraid for higher than 256 colors it is useless.

    I am investigating on this topic.


    Thanks,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,089
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    726

    Re: TopDown 3D: how to reduce needed ZIP size

    Hi Eros,

    you are right.
    I can get to 3.3 with 256 color textures, but this is probably not the way it was meant to be played
    Mikes music is so good, MIDI would save a lot in size, but often sounds ... ugly

    I will see what I can do.


    Bye,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  7. #7
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    54
    Posts
    8,636
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: TopDown 3D: how to reduce needed ZIP size

    If we deliver with just 3/4 possible backgrounds it will reduce a lot the ZIP file.
    Important is to have a function that understand how many possible backgrounds and work with the bacgrounds found.
    If user adds more backgrounds dowloading bonus pack, than functions will find them at next restart.

    Thanks a lot and do not stole any study time for this task.
    Family and school will always come first!!!!!

    Ciao
    Eros
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,089
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    726

    Re: TopDown 3D: how to reduce needed ZIP size

    Important is to have a function that understand how many possible backgrounds and work with the bacgrounds found.
    Eros,

    if I am not wrong, TopDown Alpha 2 now just gets all filenames from directory and decides whether to use.
    So if you delete some, no problem occurs!

    EDIT: I tried to upload 3MB version but it takes ages
    So for that smaller release please just correct "shoots fired" to "shots fired" and in Textures\instant action level 01
    leave k9 planet 01.bmp and any 5 other ia* backgrounds - game will fit in 3MB without problem.


    Bye,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  9. #9
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    54
    Posts
    8,636
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: TopDown 3D: how to reduce needed ZIP size

    If I'm not wrong after loading the list, there is a random choose between x and Y that do not consider the backgrounds found.
    But it can be I'm working with an old version.

    I will check it when at home this night.

    Ciao
    Eros
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

Similar Threads

  1. tbgl_entitygetaxis help needed
    By kryton9 in forum TBGL module by Petr Schreiber
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30-05-2008, 23:16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •