Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Blender export to M15 file format

  1. #1

    Blender export to M15 file format

    Petr, I was thinking about some kind of preview/viewer program for the blender export script. A few minutes ago I found the AT-AT model with a viewer script on your forum. This seems to be a perfect framework for what I want to do. Now that we have thinbundle, I can try to get this working. I just have to find out, how to start an external app from the blender API.

    Again, thanks for the script.

    Btw. does someone know a little conversion utility (run form the command line) for images? It should be free to use of course. Then I could copy the textures on the fly to and convert them while I'm at it.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,128
    Rep Power
    732

    Re: Blender export to M15 file format

    Hi Mike,

    command line image converter would be great solution.
    I have found this: http://www.imagemagick.org/script/index.php, maybe it would be ok ?

    Regarding program shelling, I could create PB compiled version of the model viewer script to keep the EXE size minimal possible ( I think I can handle it in 80kB exe ) and with command line based file input. Would it be ok ?

    Bye,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  3. #3

    Re: Blender export to M15 file format

    Sure, that would be nice. As command line parameters the path to the mesh and the texturefolder is needed.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,128
    Rep Power
    732

    Re: Blender export to M15 file format

    Hi Mike,

    this is first version, syntax is:

    thinEdge_Viewer.exe modelName [ -vtx numOfVertices [ -dst distanceFactor [ -tex textureDirectory ] ] ]

    So for example:
    thinEdge_Viewer.exe Models\ATAT_Static.m15

    or

    thinEdge_Viewer.exe Models\ATAT_Static.m15 -vtx 13000

    or

    thinEdge_Viewer.exe Models\ATAT_Static.m15 -dst 10

    or

    thinEdge_Viewer.exe Models\ATAT_Static.m15 -tex MyNewDirectory

    Both full paths and relative to exe should work.
    Parameter -vtx is there just for optimization, default value is 50000 which should be enough for most models.

    Hope you will like it, just 60 kB...


    Bye,
    Petr
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  5. #5
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: Blender export to M15 file format

    We have to stop to tell "WOW". We can have some problems with Microsoft.

    I've linked .M15 extesion files with thinEdge_Viewer.exe in order to be able to double click on .M15 files from the shell but I get error. See image.
    Usually shell pass a double quoted file name in command line. This should be the problem. thinEdge_Viewer.exe think it is a relative path.

    Ciao
    Eros
    Attached Images Attached Images
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  6. #6
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: Blender export to M15 file format

    Fantastic utility Petr.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  7. #7

    Re: Blender export to M15 file format

    Quote Originally Posted by ErosOlmi
    We have to stop to tell "WOW". We can have some problems with Microsoft.

    I've linked .M15 extesion files with thinEdge_Viewer.exe in order to be able to double click on .M15 files from the shell but I get error. See image.
    Usually shell pass a double quoted file name in command line. This should be the problem. thinEdge_Viewer.exe think it is a relative path.

    Ciao
    Eros
    Ok, no WOW from my side then Fast job, I will test it when I implement the call form the export script. I think it should allways use the full paths, as that is what it will get. Only with the texture path, if it isn't set, then use the usual "/Texture" path.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,128
    Rep Power
    732

    Re: Blender export to M15 file format

    Thanks for nice words,

    I am sorry for this bugs.
    Please find new version which should be ok, I also added PageUp, PageDown for zooming.


    Hope it will be ok,
    Petr
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  9. #9
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: Blender export to M15 file format

    Perfect.
    It is a pleasure to double click on a .M15 file and get on video on the fly.

    Now
    SHIF modifier to accellerate up,down,left,right
    x,y,z little box axes display
    mouse usage
    source light moving


    Just joking.
    Thanks a lot for this present.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,128
    Rep Power
    732

    Re: Blender export to M15 file format

    Hi Eros,

    just logged in and see this ;D
    I made a little modifications, the model is always centered now - center point is calculated during loading.
    Also normal movements are faster, but in any case you can use SHIFT

    The other stuff ... will come, but not sure if today


    Thanks,
    Petr

    Aha, now I see the centering is not always ok, will patch it soon
    [i]Later: - ok patched version is attached to this post!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Blender export to M15 file format
    By Michael Hartlef in forum TBGL Modelling, 3D, other SW integration
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 02-07-2007, 14:19

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •