Thread: Console as UIControl or AddressOf(,,,)

thinBasic MVPs

Console as UIControl or AddressOf(,,,)

When trying to create a user-defined control that will not mimic- but really act and react as the original cmd.exe - i did some research and stumbled across this article:

Using the DOS Command Prompt from Inside a VB Form

After i studied that a bit - it not only shows how to create the basic control - but also how to spawn a new thread within the current script ] which might be interesting for those who want to do some multithreading-
    - and again the requirement to pass an AddressOf which is substituted in thinBasic using CodePTR but not working with any combination of parameters i thought why it would not work. we have Function_GetPtr that is not accessible from outside of thinBasic-scope but in any case thinCore - that creates the pointers - could "delegate" by memorizing my passed thinBasic-Functionptr with

lets say the special keyword:

AddressOf( Byval mythinBasicScriptFunction As thinBasicScriptFunctionName, ByRef Handler As Number)
    to create a handler
    and instead of the parameter that asks the AddressOf i could later write
    Call[back] To Handler or Handler._I_CALL_NOW

the parser would find the keyword AddressOf - and send it to a function that i can not call nor see from thinBasic-script because it is not a regular function that would provide a keyword ---

--- but a method of a private thincore class-variable, udt, datatype.... Name it "Method.X" for now

Class methods are basically functions --- that should have an address in the sense of AddressOf.

' in thinBasic script i have to
    Declare Function dllFuncName Alias "realFuncName"([ByRef|ByVal any parameters],
        ...,{ByRef|Byval} pFuncAddr As lpWhateverProc,...,[ByRef|ByVal any parameters]) As ResultType

' so later I would use
    dim myResult as ResultType

myResult = dllFuncName([any parameters]..., AddressOf(yeah what?),...,[any parameters])