Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: asynchronous file operations

Question asynchronous file operations

Hi,

thinBasic\SampleScripts\UI\Power\Power_Messages.tBasic is a sample that can detect power status changes via callback management.

I'm in search of such behaviour for complete filesystem interaction.

As a start I studied the file copy feature:

Both FILE_Copy and FILE_ShellCopy are synchronous functions. None can expose the copy progression to the script.

Instead, MS documentation shows two relevant entries: IFileOperation interface and CopyFileExW function.

Before moving in any direction, I would like to ask :
    • advices for which of these two last way-suggestions would be the fittest and convenient to implement ?
    • in your opinion, which shape the implementation should take ?
    • if you think of another way ?
    • any other thought about this ?
    Last edited by DirectuX; 02-02-2020 at 20:10. Reason: + question and text formatting
    ThinBasic 1.11.6.0 ALPHA - Windows 8.1 x64

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

This is an example on how to use shell file operations.
    Hope can be of some help.

References: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...fileoperationa

Following example just copy script itself into a copy with extension .TXT

'--------------------------------------------------------------------
    ' https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/api/shellapi/nf-shellapi-shfileoperationa

'---Shell File Operations
      %FO_MOVE                   = &H0001
      %FO_COPY                   = &H0002
      %FO_DELETE                 = &H0003
      %FO_RENAME                 = &H0004

'---Shell File Options
      %FOF_MULTIDESTFILES        = &H0001
      %FOF_CONFIRMMOUSE          = &H0002
      %FOF_SILENT                = &H0004  ' don't display progress UI (confirm prompts may be displayed still)
      %FOF_RENAMEONCOLLISION     = &H0008  ' automatically rename the source files to avoid the collisions