Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Variable scope suggestion

  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by ReneMiner View Post
    it's obsolete to scan since the Type-definition is currently about to be changed..
    sorry, I interpreted this as veraltet, about to change in thinBasic, not by the user



    Quote Originally Posted by ReneMiner View Post
    Example
    Type tType
    
       ' if cursor here no need to scan this udt
    
    why not?, for autocomplete, take all user naming:

    variables/const names, functions names, subs names, types names, equates names, aliases names.

    in your example (TYPE),
    a var name will be suggested when Me.variableName
    a function name will be suggested when MyTypeInstance.functionName()
    ThinBasic 1.11.6.0 ALPHA - Windows 8.1 x64

  2. #12
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    54
    Posts
    1,530
    Rep Power
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by ReneMiner View Post
    Auto-complete of thinAir should be improved then...


    Some code-overview (tree) that shows everything in a structured way is a very nice tool - not only for the user to look at but also to pick expressions that should show up in auto-complete

    ...
    As seen here: on the left the code-tree, in the right window the auto-complete suggests when typing a global udts name or keyword Me followed by dot everything that could follow since it's a member of tArray
    https://www.thinbasic.com/community/...8&d=1448646570
    It scans the global area when loading, saving, switching to another code-window or click on "Refresh" and lists variables dimensioned as global as well as their type, if array etc. (They would be visible in the "Globals"-tab) and scans real-time the local code-area (inside current function only) so it can suggest useable keywords and global variables from the globals-tab or udt-members or function-parameters from code-tree as well as local variables that were found the moment when spacebar after ReDim was pushed here:
    https://www.thinbasic.com/community/...9&d=1452772925
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 21-11-2018 at 23:37.
    I think there are missing some Forum-sections as beta-testing and support

  3. #13


    now what thinIce can't do that thinAir can ?
    ThinBasic 1.11.6.0 ALPHA - Windows 8.1 x64

  4. #14
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    54
    Posts
    1,530
    Rep Power
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by DirectuX View Post


    now what thinIce can't do that thinAir can ?
    Simple answer:
    thinICE will no more been IMPROVED
    I think there are missing some Forum-sections as beta-testing and support

  5. #15

    Exclamation

    Hi, ReneMiner,

    I'm reading your thinICE code, #SCRIPTVERSION 0.6.1.0 ,
    some questions :
    1. is it the last version ?
    2. you use tbasicU file extension, sole reference (it is too much to call this reference) I found is there : https://www.thinbasic.com/public/products/thinBasic/help/html/include.htm?zoom_highlightsub=tbasicU . What's different of standard .tbasic except file-naming ?
    3. also I can't run it. I cant' find the cause. Thinbasic raise an error but the code seems correct according to this page : https://thinbasic.github.io/book-thi...-function.html. In addition, I tried the _create function in my code too and it didn't work either. Can you confirm the issue ?
    ThinBasic 1.11.6.0 ALPHA - Windows 8.1 x64

  6. #16
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    54
    Posts
    1,530
    Rep Power
    171
    I am sorry I can not test this because I do not have a PC.
    Only I can suggest to check the thinBasic-beta- archives for version 1.9.16.16

    But it's tricky !
    Before you download and install:

    Rename your original "c:\thinbasic" folder, do not overwrite it.
    Then test.
    Thereafter you might erase the folder containing version 1.9.16.16 and rename your original folder to c:\thinBasic again.

    It will not work if you try to install 1.9.16.16 next to the new thinbasic to another path ( thinICE will check the registry where thinBasic is installed on your system and also Windows will open and run ".tBasic"-files using thinBasic.exe.

    DO NOT OVERWRITE CURRENT TB-VERSION WITH THE OLD ONE!

    For the. tBasic & .tBasicU- extensions:
    A project should have 1 .tBasic- (desktop application) or .tBasicC- file (console-application) where to find the code to be executed for this current project and as many .tBasicU (additional units containing supporting routines, functions) or .tBasicI/.inc (include files, containing mostly declares, constants) as required.
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 24-11-2018 at 14:32.
    I think there are missing some Forum-sections as beta-testing and support

  7. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by ReneMiner View Post
    I am sorry I can not test this because I do not have a PC.
    Only I can suggest to check the thinBasic-beta- archives for version 1.9.16.16
    Don't have to feel sorry, it's just a fact.
    Just checked, got it run until a halt in tControl_Codefield.tBasicU (a while/wend without end according to thinbasic), also kb setting is ineffective. No matter, I got a global picture and your code is instructive!


    Quote Originally Posted by ReneMiner View Post
    For the. tBasic & .tBasicU- extensions:
    A project should have 1 .tBasic- (desktop application) or .tBasicC- file (console-application) where to find the code to be executed for this current project and as many .tBasicU (additional units containing supporting routines, functions) or .tBasicI/.inc (include files, containing mostly declares, constants) as required.
    Correct me if I'm wrong: it's just semantic for the programmer; No matter the name of the include, thinbasic treats it as being part of the main script, and thinAir makes no distinct handling ? Right ?
    So far I have only .tbasic files like this: GUI.tbasic HELPERS.tbasic FS.tbasic ... all included once in myproject.tbasic
    ThinBasic 1.11.6.0 ALPHA - Windows 8.1 x64

  8. #18
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    54
    Posts
    1,530
    Rep Power
    171
    The file-extensions as tBasic or tBasicC matter on creating .exe (executable) I think. Something that it will open thinBasic-console-windows or use the ms command prompt. But ain't sure how and which and if other extensions have similar effects

    Edit:
    I suspect it's easier to find for a user if he wants to start a thinbasic-project from windows-explorer directly instead of starting in thinAir by double-clicking on the tBasic-filename in explorer-window
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 24-11-2018 at 16:35.
    I think there are missing some Forum-sections as beta-testing and support

  9. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by ReneMiner View Post
    instead of starting in thinAir by double-clicking on the tBasic-filename in explorer-window
    there is some obsolete information in thinAIR help file (dialogs screenshots doesn't correspond to actual thinAir)
    I've just made a test because so far I had never try to double click the thinbasic files in explorer :


    .tbasic
    • thinAir calls it thinBasic GUI file
    • has tbicon
    • double click : file gets interpreted directly, thinAir doesn't show up
    • right click : open or modify or debug



    .tbasicU
    • thinAir calls it thinBasic unit file
    • has no particular icon (white sheet)
    • double click : file gets opened in a new tab in thinAir
    • right click : nothing valuable


    .thinVD
    • thinAir is not aware of this extension
    • has no particular icon (white sheet)
    • double click : is not associated with any executable (does not open from windows's file explorer)
    • is thinBasic Visual Designer's save-file
    • right click : nothing valuable



    .tbasici
    • thinAir calls it thinBasic include
    • has tbicon
    • double click : file gets opened in a new tab in thinAir
    • right click : nothing valuable



    .tproject
    • thinAir calls it thinBasic project file
    • has tbicon
    • double click : file gets opened in a new tab in thinAir
    • right click : nothing valuable
    • thinAir do not offer to create such file

    there is other extension about templates, I didn't try them.
    ThinBasic 1.11.6.0 ALPHA - Windows 8.1 x64

  10. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by DirectuX View Post
    .tproject
    • thinAir calls it thinBasic project file
    • has tbicon
    • double click : file gets opened in a new tab in thinAir
    • right click : nothing valuable
    • thinAir do not offer to create such file
    [/INDENT]
    found this in the forum, it's about .tproject files

    Quote Originally Posted by ErosOlmi View Post
    Sorry René but it was an old feature written by Roberto Bianchi (original author of thinAir) that I never ported to the new thinAir when Roberto left the project and oblidge me to rewrite thinAir almost from scratch.

    Something in the todo list but never had time to realize.
    ThinBasic 1.11.6.0 ALPHA - Windows 8.1 x64

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Suggestion: new for commands
    By kryton9 in forum Suggestions/Ideas discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16-05-2017, 19:15
  2. One suggestion
    By Petr Schreiber in forum MSVC++ 6.0
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-01-2006, 13:51

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •