Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to COM / thinbasic

New to COM / thinbasic

Hello,

As this is my first post let me introduce myself, I am Kirk a 28 year old software engineer from the UK. I have a degree in computer science and mathematics and have a passion for computer graphics. I currently work at a big firm which creates software to support the development and data capture of clinical trials around the world. I enjoy messing around with different dialects of BASIC and tried thinbasic many years ago, so I am glad to see development has continued. I am also part of the Facebook group so you may have seen my name knocking around.

I have no experience with COM, unfortunately my knowledge is as in-depth as the short msdn article I found. While the examples made it clear you need to setup a reference to a interface, it left me wondering what the ServerName parameter of COM_CREATEOBJECT() actually is. As I understand COM interface can be a DLL but where does this function try locate the interface?

Apologies in advance if I have got this function misunderstood, but the docs are very sparse here.

Kirk

Ciao Kirk,

and welcome to community forum.
    Yes thinBasic is still maintained, there is a little gab in releasing new versions because I'm finishing a big new release full of new functionalities.
    I added too much new options and I went long in releasing them all. I will never do such big changes all together, too complex.

I'm sorry but COM module has been actually deprecated even if still distributed: https://www.thinbasic.com/public/pro...x.html?com.htm
    In future thinBasic versions iDispatch functionality will substitute it.

In any case "ServerName" or "ClassName" or "progId" is the string that identify an automation object present in your computer.
    Giving that ProgramId (Program Identifier) to COM_CreateObject should be able to create an instance of that object and work with it,