Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Terrain-Texturing

  1. #31
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    158
    If anyone is interested - it's a very large file and I fear the upload-hoster is a crap because very slow- but it's free.
    125 MB because 25 MB a few demo-cells - the rest is mostly media. I think I'll not upload these again so grab'em now to get some good starting-library

    New Features:
    play on view-menu with Fog
    draw textures & colors blended or opaque to terrain
    import media (bmb/png/uncompressed tga or DataRGB, DataBGRA etc.) just by dragging into the window. If it's 256*256 and a folder in texturing-dialog is opened, the texture will be converted & copied into this open subfolder. If it's 1024 * 1024 (%Cell_Texturesize) it will be applied to the current centered cell. Other sizes will be converted to either RGB or BGRA and saved to Media-folder.

    The numbers at the menubar display the current centered cell coordinates. You can enter numbers or just alter them point there and use mousewheel
    (as almost any user-defineable numerals)

    The "^"-sign inside the 3d-mousepointer points north btw.

    tB-Minversion 1.9.6.0

    EDIT

    Re-Uploaded:
    7z-decompressing-software needed
    has about 135 MB (i took a few of the textures out so food & novelty-folders are pretty empty now)

    Download

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tb_terrain.jpg 
Views:	152 
Size:	194.2 KB 
ID:	8955   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tbterra2.jpg 
Views:	160 
Size:	115.0 KB 
ID:	8956  
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 24-03-2014 at 09:57.
    running thinBasic in HP Pavillon Desktop 590 a0xxx 8GB Ram AMD A6-9225 Radeon R4 5Compute Cores 2C+3G @2.6GHz

    OS: Windows 11 Enterprise x64 Build 22065 (21H2 pre-release)
    (says the systeminfo. anything else says it were Windows 10 - more or less insider - a lot of the system settings do not function - i could imagine it will not send feedback to microsoft since it always says i need a new app to open that feedback-hub-link. But hey: thinbasic runs well )

  2. #32
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    54
    Posts
    8,636
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10
    For some reason I missed this great script.

    Here some images
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Terrain.jpg 
Views:	162 
Size:	143.4 KB 
ID:	8953   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Terrain2.jpg 
Views:	156 
Size:	159.5 KB 
ID:	8954  
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  3. #33
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    113
    Rep Power
    26
    Rene,

    Your download link ends up with a 300+ KB installer file. Not the 7z file.
    I do not trust these small online installers for 135 MB programs (plus,
    it's under a Russian name).

    Could you please provide a direct link to the 7z file. Your help will be
    most appreciated.

    Bill

  4. #34
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    158
    installer file? no this can not be right.
    if I click the link I end up here: http://www.datafilehost.com/d/bf6a3b8f
    there's a grey button that says download and on clicking it I get prompted if to open it using 7z or to save.

    I have no idea how else I could make this large file accessable
    - the size is due to loads of built-in textures and some demo-world.

    However, I attach a very stripped-down version of it.

    There's no demo-world and only 2 textures to draw with and a few textures for the water (enable in View-menu)

    To add new textures to your "library" create subfolders to categorize these inside the Media-Folder before you run this.

    While you are building "your world" you can add new textures in *.png or *.bmp-format or uncompressed *.tga to your "library" then simply by opening the desired folder in "Texturing-Window" and drag the file from explorer into the tbgl-window to get converted into the used format instantly. They have to have a size of 256*256 pixels.

    min-OS: Windows XP

    EDIT: there's a problem now due to the missing textures ( i don't know what i did there but somehow the listview gets some index-problem when accessing textures for the second time ) and will need some time to find out how to solve
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 31-03-2014 at 14:13.
    running thinBasic in HP Pavillon Desktop 590 a0xxx 8GB Ram AMD A6-9225 Radeon R4 5Compute Cores 2C+3G @2.6GHz

    OS: Windows 11 Enterprise x64 Build 22065 (21H2 pre-release)
    (says the systeminfo. anything else says it were Windows 10 - more or less insider - a lot of the system settings do not function - i could imagine it will not send feedback to microsoft since it always says i need a new app to open that feedback-hub-link. But hey: thinbasic runs well )

  5. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    113
    Rep Power
    26
    Rene,

    Thanks for your quick reply.

    I have attached what the download windows look like. This
    is with small box under the grey button checked. Unchecked,
    the download does not connect.

    Bill

    P.S. It is downloading now. I unchecked the box and started
    a download. It took about 10 minutes to connect. BTW. It
    just completed. It downloaded just fine.

    Thank you very much.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot.jpg 
Views:	134 
Size:	118.0 KB 
ID:	8984  
    Last edited by Billbo; 31-03-2014 at 14:24.

  6. #36
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    158
    I fixed the problem and re-uploaded the stripped-down-version again.
    On "Select a world"- question type in the name ("new world") and use enter - in following sessions you can pick existing worlds in the upper list.

    Also found out - you can add new subfolders in Media-folder during runtimes - when opening textures-window (F4) it reloads them...
    (this time a few gravel-textures so different size than above)

    PS. best to drag-in bmp since these have no alpha-channel which is unnecessary for terrain anyway

    Billbo- maybe not choose "open" but "save" in first window that pops up when click on "download" ?

    + to have the fix it only needs gadget-unit of this download -
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 31-03-2014 at 14:27.
    running thinBasic in HP Pavillon Desktop 590 a0xxx 8GB Ram AMD A6-9225 Radeon R4 5Compute Cores 2C+3G @2.6GHz

    OS: Windows 11 Enterprise x64 Build 22065 (21H2 pre-release)
    (says the systeminfo. anything else says it were Windows 10 - more or less insider - a lot of the system settings do not function - i could imagine it will not send feedback to microsoft since it always says i need a new app to open that feedback-hub-link. But hey: thinbasic runs well )

  7. #37
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    113
    Rep Power
    26
    Rene,

    I sure appreciate it. It downloaded the update.

    Check my P.S. above.

    Bill

  8. #38
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    158
    I'm sure some will ask why I did not finish it...

    Now- some landscape is nice, but would be better if some trees or houses in there. I think I'll redo something similar in the future that unites mesh+terrain-editor so you can build mesh-prototypes, create an object ("myHouse(1)") , assign the mesh(es) to it and place it into the landscape. How does that sound?

    Sadly it has to wait until I've found a solution for the slow "loading-speed" which is caused by missing materials in TBGL-m15-format and no other way than pumping the data into display-lists then - to torture users with the current available speed is inacceptable.

    Also I'll wait for some oopification-improvements that are just around the corner and I hope for "the new TBGL" of course to have some cool native data-format that can create entities from the information of some passed datapointers and desired vertex-type.
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 31-03-2014 at 18:09.
    running thinBasic in HP Pavillon Desktop 590 a0xxx 8GB Ram AMD A6-9225 Radeon R4 5Compute Cores 2C+3G @2.6GHz

    OS: Windows 11 Enterprise x64 Build 22065 (21H2 pre-release)
    (says the systeminfo. anything else says it were Windows 10 - more or less insider - a lot of the system settings do not function - i could imagine it will not send feedback to microsoft since it always says i need a new app to open that feedback-hub-link. But hey: thinbasic runs well )

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Similar Threads

  1. Sphere Texturing
    By zak in forum TBGL General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 18:40
  2. texturing model by one picture stretched
    By zak in forum TBGL General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 20:29
  3. M15 texturing - UV Coordinates
    By dcromley in forum M15 file format
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-04-2009, 08:41
  4. 9 terrain matrix
    By kryton9 in forum Resources
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-07-2007, 00:32

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •