Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: tB + VS working together?

  1. #1

    tB + VS working together?

    A general question, of which I think the answer is no, but does thinBasic allow for working with a .Net .DLL file?

    The .DLL file exposes some data while a game is running that I want to capture. I can also use it to write new data for the game's use, in my efforts to extract data. But it is set up as a .Net program and that would require me to get familiar with Visual Basic 2010, which I do have installed. I've done some very basic (no pun intended...) code and now need to get into more involved. I have a small degree of success and comfort with thinBasic and would like to try to utilize it, but I don't see any references to linking with a .Net file.

    Is thinBasic an option? Or must I grit my teeth and try to learn what's necessary to work with VB2010?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,129
    Rep Power
    732
    This is an interesting question. While ThinBASIC does not allow accessing .NET directly, it can work with COM objects.
    If you are the creator of the .NET DLL, you might be able to produce COM wrapper to your .NET assembly from Visual Studio.

    Then, you can work with the COM object as demonstrated in SampleScripts/COM/ examples.

    The process of producing the COM from .NET is roughly described for example here:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...48&Product=vb6

    Here how to call the result from VBA:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;317535

    And you can invoke VBA script from ThinBASIC as demonstrated in:
    SampleScripts/COM/VBScript_Test.tBasic

    So... to put it short:
    • It should be possible
    • But it will be more work than handling the case from VS directly



    Petr
    Last edited by Petr Schreiber; 10-07-2012 at 10:28.
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  3. #3
    Thank you for the reply, Petr. I'm not the originator of the code, just someone who wants to utilize it with the least amount of work/learning with another variant of BASIC. I'll figure out how to extract what I want and then come back to the familiarity of thinBasic to proceed with the work.

    Lance

  4. #4
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,782
    Rep Power
    10
    Definitely something I would like to work on in order to improve thinBasic usage of COM objects in a more "native way"
    But not something just round the corner, sorry
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

Similar Threads

  1. TGA files not working
    By Michael Clease in forum TBGL General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 13-06-2009, 11:57
  2. What are you working on?
    By Michael Clease in forum TBGL General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-02-2008, 07:11
  3. Ode examples are not working now
    By kryton9 in forum thinBasic General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 19-11-2007, 08:45
  4. FreeBasic SDK: first working example
    By ErosOlmi in forum Module SDK (Freebasic version)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 23-09-2007, 08:26

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •