PDA

View Full Version : AutoSpeed Test



Michael Clease
16-10-2007, 01:13
I was playing around with the speed test routines and tweaked and added some bits here and there.

extract all the files and copy the latest core in the same directory and click on runme.bat the scripts will do the rest.

click on SHOW when the window appears.

you can save the graph as a picture for posting.

This is a first go and my command line is a little rusty also I used the chart example (seems quite outdated) because I have never used RMchart before.

Feel free to comment and yes the code is a bloody mess but I wanted to release it and not worry about speed and better techniques.

have fun.

Mike

Update

Modified tests to all use the the new timer function.

Randall
16-10-2007, 01:55
On my PC, thee script collate.tbasic failed when it tried to call RMC_CreateChartI.

I guess I have to install RMChart? How do I do that?

Thanks,

Randall

matthew
16-10-2007, 04:57
Nice test Mike. :)

You can see my results in the attached image.

@ Randall - RMChart should already be installed. :-\

Check in the 'C:\thinBasic\Bin' folder for a .dll called RMChart.dll.

Edit
Lol, I'd already installed the new THINCORE.dll before I ran the tests so the results are pretty meaningless. :D

Michael Clease
16-10-2007, 08:58
Randall try visiting http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=6A63AB9C-DF12-4D41-933C-BE590FEAA05A&displaylang=en

get the GDIplus update.

I dont know whats happening but you could reinstall the last preview version.

thanks matthew.

update ...You can trim the equates down to just


%ID_RMC1 = %WM_USER+1024
%ID_EXPORT = %ID_RMC1+1
%ID_CLOSE = %ID_RMC1+2
%ID_SHOW = %ID_RMC1+3

Petr Schreiber
16-10-2007, 13:25
Perfect!,

I like how it handles all necessary stuff for me ( thinCore instalation ).
Very much appreciated !
Only weird thing is that results are very similar, so not sure DLL switch is really accepted.


Petr

Michael Clease
16-10-2007, 14:42
look in the thinbasic directory there should be 2 files aafter the tests have finished.

thincore.dll
thincore.new

check the version and file sizes.

I suppose windows might think they are the same file if the version number are the same and use the one that might still be resident in memory but I havent seen that yet.

heres a core from july try that.

Petr Schreiber
16-10-2007, 14:51
Thanks,

they are differentely sized so ok probably.
I cannot use older core because of thinBASIC core version protection.

Here are results I get using DoTests.Bat


Petr

Michael Clease
16-10-2007, 15:08
why is the protection not stopping me from running it?

ErosOlmi
16-10-2007, 15:26
Abraxas, first thanks a lot for your scripts idea. It open minds of possible implementations of performace comparisons.
Renaming DLLs, the risk is to fall into some dll caching from the OS.

I like the idea of having a global script comparison. Personally I would prefer to write results into a DB, for example an Access DB, storing date, time, tests code, test result. So every new script test instead of showing results or storing into a file, will store into a DB
Than have a script to read results from DB and show in different way.

This approach also keeps separate data collection from data analysis.
File storing is also good but should be implemented as log file with date, time, test name and test results. All tests will append new results.

I will think about that for future tests.

Thanks a lot for those efforts!!
Ciao
Eros

Randall
17-10-2007, 02:30
Randall try visiting http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=6A63AB9C-DF12-4D41-933C-BE590FEAA05A&displaylang=en

get the GDIplus update.


Thanks ! That fixed it !

Michael Clease
15-02-2008, 23:53
Updated test routines for new timing function.

Petr Schreiber
16-02-2008, 00:31
Thanks Abraxas!,


Petr

kryton9
16-02-2008, 02:13
Thanks for the update Mike.

Michael Hartlef
16-02-2008, 10:51
Thanks Mike :)