Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    6,759
    Blog Entries
    3
    Rep Power
    688

    ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    Hi guys,

    I tried ARMA 2 demo, because I wanted to see with my own eyes what were all those technical articles on vegetation describing.

    But that is not what made me "" most ... I was quite surprised not only humans are playable... do you recognize me on the attached phot screen?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fb_arma2.jpg 
Views:	1186 
Size:	270.7 KB 
ID:	5870  
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 7 64bit - Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 @ 2.2GHz - 4 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce G210M 512MB
    Windows 8 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 8 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT640 3GB

  2. #2
    thinBasic MVPs Michael Hartlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leverkusen, Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,258
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    336

    Re: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    I guess the cow

    ARMA 2, never heard about it. Have to find it.
    Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200.

  3. #3
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,091
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    6,759
    Blog Entries
    3
    Rep Power
    688

    Re: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    Mike,

    how is it possible your first guess was correct already

    ARMA 2 ( Armed Assault 2 ) is being developed by studio from Prague, by authors of ARMA 1 [desc=Would you guess it][/desc] and Operation Flashpoint.
    It is more a war simulation than game. At least here, authors published lots of articles on how they worked on game - from motion capture to vegetation.

    The landscape in game is digitized environment of ~200 km2 around city "Usti nad Labem" here, but buildings are different. The game got terrible review in german magazines, due to big amount of bugs. In Czech Republic we get shipped the patched version, which should be better.

    You can walk alone, command squads, ride cars, airplanes in this game.

    The engine is really good, too bad it is used just for game about killing each other.

    It is quite hardware demanding, but not as brutal as I thought. On my PC it runs about 15FPS with maxxed settings, with some compromises in settings I can play it smoothly. I think modern graphic card and especially 2GB of RAM are important to run it smoothly in best quality.


    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 7 64bit - Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 @ 2.2GHz - 4 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce G210M 512MB
    Windows 8 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 8 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT640 3GB

  5. #5
    thinBasic MVPs Michael Hartlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leverkusen, Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,258
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    336

    Re: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    I was just guessing.

    Operation Flashpoint, I loved that game. And this one looks very good too.
    Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200.

  6. #6
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,091
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    Seems very nice. I will check the demo.

    [youtube=640,400]aFy9iaJN-ns[/youtube]
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  7. #7

    Re: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    Quote Originally Posted by Petr Schreiber
    ...But that is not what made me "" most ... I was quite surprised not only humans are playable... do you recognize me on the attached phot screen?
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Hartlef
    ...I guess the cow
    I was going to say the Sheep.

    The graphics remind me of [wiki=Battlefield_Bad_Company]Battlefield: Bad Company[/wiki] which uses the [wiki=Frostbite_Engine]Frostbite Engine[/wiki] & lets you destroy any part of the scenery.
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    CPU: AMD C-70 APU 40nm Technology
    Memory: 4.00GB DDR3 @ 533MHz
    Graphics: 256MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 7290 Graphics

  8. #8
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,091
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    Downloaded ARMA 2 Demo: 2.9 GB
    Installed on disk: another 3 GB

    Executed first time: impossible. Missing X3DAudio1_6.dll file

    I'm now going for patch hunting ...
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  9. #9
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,091
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    Problem solved installing DirectX 9 redistributable package: http://forums.bistudio.com/showpost....93&postcount=4
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  10. #10
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,091
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: ARMA 2 : The animal simulator :)

    Played a bit but too slow for my poor hardware.
    Graphics and game ... immersion is not bad at all.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •