Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 USD, Received: 0 USD (0%)
Donate to support this site and ThinBASIC project development

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

  1. #21
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,802
    Rep Power
    389

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Thanks Mike, I didn't know about that, I always thought OEM was just like the full retail but without any books or maybe support. So thanks for the warning!

    It is funny in my last 2 computes I bought, I never got windows OS cd's, but had to burn restore dvd's for my computers. The problem with that is each time I want to do a clean install, it installs all these apps I don't want and I have to spend an hour to remove everything and then start to install what I want, hate that!!

    I have also read now on more than one blog, that if you buy a notebook that comes with Vista, you will have the most difficult time installing previous versions of windows as you can't find drivers for the hardware. They had a great sale this week, a notebook for $350, nothing powerful, but more than enough to take around to surf or program on... anyways it comes with vista home, so I started to read about notebooks, vista and putting XP back on and came across these issues, so held off on the purchase.
    That is scary that you are locked into one OS when you buy new complete systems now!

  2. #22
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    6,444
    Rep Power
    655

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Kryton,

    regarding XPs - in my country there is action called "Legalise your Windows", which means you can buy relatively cheap XPs OEM without any hardware or PC bundled with.

    Full XP Pro: $530
    Legalise program : $191

    And you must not be pirate to take advantage of this program .


    Bye,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 7 64bit - Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 @ 2.2GHz - 4 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce G210M 512MB
    Windows 8 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 8 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT640 3GB

  3. #23
    thinBasic MVPs Michael Clease's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,414
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    149

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    This is for anyone that hasnt seen it before. How about XP on a USB DataPen.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/09/...n_your_pocket/
    Why is the world full of nobs trying to push my buttons!!

    Home Desktop : WinXP Pro SP3 - Intel Pentium (D) - 3.0 Ghz - 2GB - Geforce 6800GS
    Home Laptop : WinXP Pro SP3 - Intel Centrino Duo - 1.73 Ghz - 2 GB - Intel GMA 950
    Home Laptop : WinXP Pro SP3 - Intel Pentium 4 - 3 Ghz - 512 MB - ATI Mobile Radeon 7000 IGP
    Work Desktop : WinXP Pro SP3 - Intel core 2 Quad Q8200 - 2.33 Ghz - 2 Gb - Quadro Fx 370

  4. #24
    Super Moderator Michael Hartlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leverkusen, Germany
    Age
    48
    Posts
    3,151
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    324

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    [offtopic]

    Kent, OEM versions are valid only for the computer you bought it with. In the beginning the dealers were only allowed to ship them with a computer. On a seperate CD, a recovery CD or like with your computer on a harddrive partion, which then you can burn on to a CD. The harddrive version and the recovery CD are locked to your PC. Nomally you can't use them on a different computer. A few years ago the dealers here start selling OEM versions alone. But still when you install and activate them, they are locked with the computer you did the install first. I changed the motherboard one time and had a very hard time on the phone to convince the nice lady to reactivate my license. Because it was an OEM one.

    The thing with Notebooks is, that they run great out of the box. Starting with graphiccard drivers, you won't find the manufacturer releasing new versions of the driver much. Maybe one or two and that's it. Like with NVidia mobile chips you need a modified version to get the NVIDIA drivers installed. And mostlikely the newest driver versions don't run anymore, that is why I'm stucked at my driver version.
    But I knew that before I got my notebook.

    [/offtopic]

  5. #25
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,620
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Hartlef
    Kent, OEM versions are valid only for the computer you bought it with. In the beginning the dealers were only allowed to ship them with a computer. On a seperate CD, a recovery CD or like with your computer on a harddrive partion, which then you can burn on to a CD. The harddrive version and the recovery CD are locked to your PC. Nomally you can't use them on a different computer. A few years ago the dealers here start selling OEM versions alone. But still when you install and activate them, they are locked with the computer you did the install first. I changed the motherboard one time and had a very hard time on the phone to convince the nice lady to reactivate my license. Because it was an OEM one.

    The thing with Notebooks is, that they run great out of the box. Starting with graphiccard drivers, you won't find the manufacturer releasing new versions of the driver much. Maybe one or two and that's it. Like with NVidia mobile chips you need a modified version to get the NVIDIA drivers installed. And mostlikely the newest driver versions don't run anymore, that is why I'm stucked at my driver version.
    But I knew that before I got my notebook.
    I can confirm all.
    Same here with ATI driver and Acer TravelMate 8204WLMi. I can only install ATI driver if released by Acer support system. Official ATI drivers just do not install or in some cases crash the OS.

    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win7Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  6. #26

    Re: LAN module: How to ... dissipate a vaporware around ThinBASIC

    Added other three functions:

    • LAN_GetLastExtendedError() Retur the description of given error number
    • LAN_AddConnection() Add a connection
    • LAN_CancelConnection() Cancel a connection


    Ciao,
    Roberto
    http://www.thinbasic.com

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. WMI module: some preview vaporware
    By ErosOlmi in forum WMI
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15-10-2007, 16:33

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •