Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Comm_Recv causes thinBasic to crash

Comm_Recv causes thinBasic to crash

Hello All,

I'm new to thinBasic, but so far I have been quite impressed on how easy it has been to use, in fact it structure is close to the same as that used by Citect, which has probably made using it easier for me.

However I want to recieve one character of data every now and then to control a Clock that I have built for our local hockey club. When ever my code get to the line "Comm_Recv(hComm,nBytes,sBuffer)" even in the sample code, my thinBasic crashes with "thinBasic Language Interpreter GUI Application has encountered a problem and needs to close."

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong?

I have seen others mention the use of API to get data in and out via the serial ports, can someone give me an example of that use?

Regards,

Bevan Daniel

Re: Comm_Recv causes thinBasic to crash

Hi Daniel,

wellcome here.

I will check if I find something wrong with COMM_Recv function. The error you get seems a GPF (general protection failure) and usually happen when application try to get/set data into an invalid memory address (pointer).

In the meantime, can you please be so kind to give me some info on you operating system?

Thanks a lot
    Eros
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

Hello Eros,

My Current machine is a IBM Pentium 4 3Ghz with 500Mb of Ram running Windows XP Professional, version 2002, service pack 2.

The Error Signature is:

AppName: thinbasic.exe AppVer: 1.4.0.0 ModName: thincore.dll
    ModVer: 1.4.0.0 Offset: 0002cf94

I have also attached the error report incase that is helpful.