Thread: Irrlicht Development

Irrlicht Development

I couldn't reply to Roberto's last post as the thread was locked. Here is his quote:
    Hi Kryton9,

in order to handle multi device but in the same time keep easy the module use and speed up the calls I choose to create a structure that holds device, video driver, scene manager, GUI environment and event receiver and pass a pointer it during module API calls.
    The side effect is that for each device you can have only one video driver, scene manager, GUI environment and event receiver, but actually this seems not be a limitation.
    Please let me know what you think.

Regards,
    Roberto
    Roberto, I think the structure is a really clever idea and it does really simplify the code from the hello world example I studied. That was a brilliant idea you came up with for sure. About it being a limit in the future or not, I have no idea. Right now I can't see it being one, but with multi-core cpu's and sli type video systems, if this will be a problem in the future? You would know more about it. Does the OS see those cpu's and video cards as one?

Anyways, thanks for this work. It looks monumental, but I think a very good engine you picked to bring into the thinBasic world!!!

Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

Re: Irrlicht Development

Roberto, I was studying Irrlicht example 14 in the irrlicht examples folder. I think it holds the key to allowing us to use irrlicht and tbgl together.

We can just set device to render in opengl. I was going to tinker with it, but I figured why waste time and just ask.

He uses:

HWND hIrrlichtWindow = CreateWindow("BUTTON", "", WS_CHILD | WS_VISIBLE | BS_OWNERDRAW,
    50, 80, 400, 400, hWnd, NULL, hInstance, NULL);