Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: TopDown versioning

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    6,839
    Blog Entries
    3
    Rep Power
    697

    TopDown versioning

    Hi all,

    I will prepair sticky topic with latest TopDown download soon.

    My idea is to take krytons "planet" version as latest, and call it 0.5.0.0.
    All other versions will have increasing numbers, while final ( if something like "final" is possible, hard to stop adding features ) will be numbered 1.0.0.0 ( or simply 1.0 ).

    Future "Down and Dirty" would be 2.0.0.0 ( 2.0 ).

    What do you think ?


    Thanks,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 7 64bit - Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 @ 2.2GHz - 4 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce G210M 512MB
    Windows 8 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 8 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT640 3GB

  2. #2
    thinBasic MVPs Michael Hartlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leverkusen, Germany
    Age
    52
    Posts
    3,283
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    340

    Re: TopDown versioning

    Sounds good to me.
    Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200.

  3. #3
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Naples, Florida & Duluth, Georgia
    Age
    62
    Posts
    3,869
    Rep Power
    398

    Re: TopDown versioning

    I don't know why so many numbers are used in the version numbers. I think it makes it harder to read and see the latest version. My opinion of course.

    I think just simpler numbering using 1 or 2 numbers, like v1 or v1.0 for release product.
    development projects: alpha 1 or alpha 1.0 then beta 1 or beta 1.0

    Alpha, Beta and V also sorts it nicely in the folders by name properly
    Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    6,839
    Blog Entries
    3
    Rep Power
    697

    Re: TopDown versioning

    Thanks for opinion guys,

    but now I am even more puzzled than before
    kryton is right 4 digits is too much for a game...

    So maybe go the Catventure way of Alpha + number, and when released full, only patched versions will have decimal part ?


    Bye,
    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 7 64bit - Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 @ 2.2GHz - 4 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce G210M 512MB
    Windows 8 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 8 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT640 3GB

  5. #5
    thinBasic MVPs Michael Hartlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leverkusen, Germany
    Age
    52
    Posts
    3,283
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    340

    Re: TopDown versioning

    yes, take this.
    Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200.

  6. #6
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Naples, Florida & Duluth, Georgia
    Age
    62
    Posts
    3,869
    Rep Power
    398

    Re: TopDown versioning

    I am glad to know I am not strange in wanting little and simple numbering. I just think if Microsoft could do their naming this way it must be ok. Windows 3.0, Windows 3.11 and then VB 3, 4, 5 etc. Just easy to see right away and know what is the latest
    Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

Similar Threads

  1. After TopDown
    By kryton9 in forum TBGL General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23-02-2007, 00:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •