Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Does ThinAir supports Unicode ?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Keralam, India
    Posts
    121
    Rep Power
    21

    Does ThinAir supports Unicode ?

    Hi all,
    Thanks for this nice IDE and nice language. It doesn't deems to be support unicode. When i type some texts in my native language (Malayalam - India), it shows some question marks. Normaly, this type ide's have an option set the encoding to UTF-8 or something like that. I can't find one in ThinAir. Did i miss something ?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,129
    Rep Power
    732
    Hi,

    thinBasic unicode support is an area which could be expanded a lot.

    But to give you a start, have a look at the following functions to see, if their help you achieve what you need:
    • IsUnicode
    • Ascii2Unicode
    • Unicode2Ascii
    • WideCharToUTF8$
    • UTF8ToWideChar$
    • UTF8ToAnsi$
    • AnsiToUTF8$


    I remember talking with Eros regarding UTF8. I think thinAir does not support it in current build, but thinBasic interpreter can use UTF8 files to execute.

    Regarding code page in console, I think the following function is very helpful:


    • Console_SetCP


    You can check the information about these in Help file, which you can launch by pressing F1 key in thinAir.


    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Keralam, India
    Posts
    121
    Rep Power
    21
    @Petr Schreiber,
    Thanks. Let me try

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Keralam, India
    Posts
    121
    Rep Power
    21
    Hi,
    I have tried all functions you said in above post. None of them are worked. Feeling sad about unicode.

  5. #5
    Hi kcvinu
    i am curious if this approach works:
    use notepad to save this code:

    Uses "UI"

    string a
    a = "മലയാളം"
    msgbox 0,a


    to the thinbasic folder, then from command prompt write
    thinBasicc test.txt
    does it display the മലയാളം correctly on your system ? if not try the functions listed by Petr with the മലയാളം in notepad and try again.
    i have tried the Greek and several other languages and it is displayed correctly in the thinAir ide and in the msgbox, except the indian(
    Malayalam) . but don't despair, you can request the proper management of your language here http://www.thinbasic.com/community/p...hp?projectid=1 . Eros in a holiday (in a remote island with no internet connection) for 2 weeks.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Keralam, India
    Posts
    121
    Rep Power
    21
    @primo
    Thanks for your reply. But your aproach didn't worked for me. The msgbox showed with strange symbols.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15-03-2014, 21:32
  2. HELP FILE : Unicode information swapped
    By Michael Clease in forum Fixed or cleared errors in help material
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-03-2011, 12:19
  3. Proposed Wide String (Unicode) support in OxygenBasic
    By Charles Pegge in forum O2h Compiler
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-02-2011, 04:08
  4. Is this ASCII, ANSI, UNICODE or something else?
    By martin in forum thinAir General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29-04-2009, 09:56

Members who have read this thread: 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •