Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 86

Thread: [preview] thinICE

  1. #1
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,439
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    158

    [preview] thinICE

    thinICE

    Inconvenient Coding Environment
    for
    thinBasic written in thinBasic

    #MINVERSION 1.9.16.16 !!!

    Default it creates a new, empty script because there was none to load...
    The filename to save you can write somewhere into the script as a comment like
    ' #FILENAME "myScript.tBasic"
    
    then right-click into codefield to choose actions as "Save as ...".

    If you want to include more files, just write something like
    #Include "myNewUnit.tBasicU"
    
    and Tokenize again (CTRL-T or right-click the CodeTree) or select existing units in the bottom list on "Explorer"-Tab to include them to your current script. (insert "ONCE" if desired)

    If you save a new project you may create a new folder for this (right-click into pathview) and/or select an existing path here before you exit.


    • expand Nodes on a tree using the middle mouse-button,
    • use mouse-wheel to scroll on anything, hold Shift|CTRL|Menu-key to change scroll-speed

    Check out the Tabstrip on the left of the editor:

    • see all your "Code" listed in a codetree that tells you all about your projects structure
    • you'll have a "Globals" tree that tells you all about used modules, global variables & constants
    • "Explorer" that allows you to (re-)load projects or to include files to your project at the current codeline
    The pathview on explorer-tab shows by default this projects folder,
    if you load thinIce.tBasic itself it'll take a while like 10 to 20 seconds.
    Smaller projects without this many units will load faster and work faster
    - since tUI will create more than 260 controls to handle thinICE within itself.
    • set thinICE-"Options" as you like
    • "Help" will provide you with important information about thinICE
    and allow to access all with thinBasic shipped helpfiles

    advice:
    study "Help" before you start, it's not that much...

    • F11-key to toggle the size of Tab-Area or use the splitbar right aligned at Tab-area
    • F12-key or double-click {into empty area | onto statusbar} to toggle the window-size to 90% of the screen
    • see { first attached image | Help\Codewindows\Shortcuts } for a shortcuts-overview

    try out the Autocomplete-feature when you type into a code-window:

    • Use Arrow-keys (up/down)
    • Tab-key to insert and to continue on the same line
    • Return-key if want to continue to write on the next line
    • or use mouse

    click onto line-numbers of codefields to
    • toggle breakpoints
    • duplicate current line (CTRL+D)
    • insert code-blocks



    Careful:

    when running thinICE.tBasic from thinAir
    If you have any scripts open in thinAir that you already changed using thinICE before
    - close these scripts in thinAir before launching any scripts again
    - else thinAir will overwrite your changes


    Check out the TBGL-UI-Project behind the curtain and have a look at the sample-scripts.
    To use tUI you can use one of the templates to get started.

    Have fun, keep on coding.

    Updated regularly
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	shortcuts2.jpg 
Views:	224 
Size:	91.4 KB 
ID:	9524   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thinICE_new.jpg 
Views:	207 
Size:	174.2 KB 
ID:	9526   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	options.jpg 
Views:	181 
Size:	27.7 KB 
ID:	9539   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	autocomplete03.jpg 
Views:	231 
Size:	50.2 KB 
ID:	9444   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	autocomplete04.jpg 
Views:	210 
Size:	47.7 KB 
ID:	9445  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	insertcodeBlocks.jpg 
Views:	174 
Size:	51.1 KB 
ID:	9525   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	autocomplete.jpg 
Views:	185 
Size:	185.8 KB 
ID:	9543  
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 06-02-2016 at 13:07.
    running thinBasic in HP Pavillon Desktop 590 a0xxx 8GB Ram AMD A6-9225 Radeon R4 5Compute Cores 2C+3G @2.6GHz

    OS: Windows 11 Enterprise x64 Build 22065 (21H2 pre-release)
    (says the systeminfo. anything else says it were Windows 10 - more or less insider - a lot of the system settings do not function - i could imagine it will not send feedback to microsoft since it always says i need a new app to open that feedback-hub-link. But hey: thinbasic runs well )

  2. #2
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    54
    Posts
    8,636
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10
    I will check better next day looking at the source but looking at images ... what a f..uck!
    Wow, incredible work you have done.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,090
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    727
    Yes, exactly my reaction

    Rene is silent for a while and then... whoa Miracles happen.

    I like the code completion / code whisperer, how it reduces the options in real time without problem.

    There is just a minor functionality problem with using arrow keys on my PC, but it could be something rare. I am investigating...


    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  4. #4
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    54
    Posts
    8,636
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10
    I'm checking a little your code.
    I'm astonished Renι, really impressed to what level you have taken thinBasic sources.

    I feel a little guilty not being able to give you more execution speed. A so complex code for an interpreter is a real challenge.
    I will study better your sources in order to see if I can get you more speed in creating new native thinBasic features.
    Your code is a mine of discovery.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  5. #5
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,439
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by ErosOlmi View Post
    ...

    I will study better your sources in order to see if I can get you more speed in creating new native thinBasic features.
    ...
    one thing you'll find very often is something as this:

    ' some array of something stored at heap-memory like:
    Dword pArray = Heap_AllocByStr(MKL$(1, 2, 3, 4,...))
    
    
    
    Local vVariable As Long At pArray ' place a virtual variable of fitting type onto first position
    
    If GetAt(vVariable) Then 
    ' ( = if Heap exists at all )
    
      While GetAt(vVariable) <= Heap_End(pArray)  
    '  ( = For Each vVariable In Heap_Memory(pArray) )
    
       '<<< iterateCount = 1 + (pArray - GetAt(vVariable)) / SizeOf(vVariable) >>>
      
      ' do something with vVariable 
    
        ' always last before Wend: move the surfing variable onto next element:
    
         SetAt( vVariable, GetAt(vVariable) + SizeOf(vVariable) )
      Wend
    ' (  = Next )
    EndIf
    
    this does not require any local variables allocation all is virtual - as you see even the iterate-count can be calculated if desired quite simple.

    For the always repeating line in the end of all these while-wend-loops
    SetAt( vVariable, GetAt(vVariable) + SizeOf(vVariable) )
    
    i tried to create a Sub SetAtNext - but it sadly does not work this way because it does not affect a virtual variable of another function:

    Sub SetAtNext(ByRef v) 
    
      SetAt( v, GetAt(v) + SizeOf(v) )  
      
    End Sub
    
    but maybe thinBasic can make it possible...

    For the speed: i wait for upcoming tokenizer-class - i hope it makes it possible to store information on user-tokens ( space for a Dword/Ptr would serve).
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 20-11-2015 at 14:50.
    running thinBasic in HP Pavillon Desktop 590 a0xxx 8GB Ram AMD A6-9225 Radeon R4 5Compute Cores 2C+3G @2.6GHz

    OS: Windows 11 Enterprise x64 Build 22065 (21H2 pre-release)
    (says the systeminfo. anything else says it were Windows 10 - more or less insider - a lot of the system settings do not function - i could imagine it will not send feedback to microsoft since it always says i need a new app to open that feedback-hub-link. But hey: thinbasic runs well )

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,090
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    727
    Hi Rene,

    could you please adjust the settings so pressing Home will goto beginning of line and End to end of line? I am using it very much when editing and now it takes me to beginning/end of the file
    I also wanted to ask what is the correct keyboard shortcut to use code completion - I choose something via arrows, but when I press Enter, it also creates new line, which is not what I need.


    Petr
    Last edited by Petr Schreiber; 20-11-2015 at 15:13.
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  7. #7
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,439
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    158
    to insert and continue on same line use TAB-Key

    regarding Home/End for autocomplete: both work as PageUp, PageDown also do and affect the autocomplete only but not the codewindow.
    Or did I get you wrong?
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 20-11-2015 at 15:24.
    running thinBasic in HP Pavillon Desktop 590 a0xxx 8GB Ram AMD A6-9225 Radeon R4 5Compute Cores 2C+3G @2.6GHz

    OS: Windows 11 Enterprise x64 Build 22065 (21H2 pre-release)
    (says the systeminfo. anything else says it were Windows 10 - more or less insider - a lot of the system settings do not function - i could imagine it will not send feedback to microsoft since it always says i need a new app to open that feedback-hub-link. But hey: thinbasic runs well )

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,090
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    727
    Thanks for the TAB tip, works great

    The note regarding Home/End is not related to autocomplete - it is related to general editing. For example, I am writing this and want to add #1 at the beginning of line. In thinAir, I just press Home and it takes me to first character in line. In thinIce, it makes the cursor jump to the beginning of file.


    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  9. #9
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,439
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    158
    I changed something - so you can use %VK_Left or %VK_Right when you hold CTRL and it will jump to start or end of current codeline for the meantime.

    Check the attachement on first post of thread.

    Also with the updated download:

    Revealing another secret : this is 2 projects: TBGL-UI and thinICE as first project that makes use of my TBGL-UI.

    So for the nosy ones there are included some test-projects that demonstrate (test) a few controls and some empty UI_Template to get started very quickly.

    UI is not completed by now.
    Do not use the tControl_Textfield unless for display- i paid currently more attention on the codefield. Also the tControl_ListPopup is just a study when i developed the autocomplete-control which is - as the codefield - a specialized control for the thinICE-project.

    @Eros, have a look at post #5 (above) please
    http://www.thinbasic.com/community/s...ll=1#post92304
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 20-11-2015 at 18:55.
    running thinBasic in HP Pavillon Desktop 590 a0xxx 8GB Ram AMD A6-9225 Radeon R4 5Compute Cores 2C+3G @2.6GHz

    OS: Windows 11 Enterprise x64 Build 22065 (21H2 pre-release)
    (says the systeminfo. anything else says it were Windows 10 - more or less insider - a lot of the system settings do not function - i could imagine it will not send feedback to microsoft since it always says i need a new app to open that feedback-hub-link. But hey: thinbasic runs well )

  10. #10
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,439
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    158
    a new improved version, click here for the download.

    Some new controls added as a simple progressbar so it seems not that frozen when loading,
    new features as Find & Replace,
    CTRL+Left/Right, Home/End in codefields now work the same way as in thinAir
    CTRL+Up/Down will place the cursor at the start of the next function/sub/callback

    clicking a file in the includes-list (bottom of explorer-tab) will add this file to the project by
    inserting it into the current codewindow.
    If the file is not located on an included path nor at the standard-locations as thinBasic-installpath nor thinBasic\Inc then it will get copied to the projects mainfiles sourcepath.
    and a little more finetuning. Forgot what it was

    have fun
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 21-11-2015 at 19:31.
    running thinBasic in HP Pavillon Desktop 590 a0xxx 8GB Ram AMD A6-9225 Radeon R4 5Compute Cores 2C+3G @2.6GHz

    OS: Windows 11 Enterprise x64 Build 22065 (21H2 pre-release)
    (says the systeminfo. anything else says it were Windows 10 - more or less insider - a lot of the system settings do not function - i could imagine it will not send feedback to microsoft since it always says i need a new app to open that feedback-hub-link. But hey: thinbasic runs well )

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 3 DLL less in next preview
    By ErosOlmi in forum Suggestions/Ideas discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-08-2009, 20:08
  2. Preview of next thinDebug
    By ErosOlmi in forum thinDebug
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-08-2008, 16:12
  3. Android preview
    By ErosOlmi in forum Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-05-2008, 23:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •