Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 203

Thread: thinBASIC 1.9.16.X

  1. #11
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks, solved.
    Will be present in next update.

    In the module equates are defined as the following and usually first byte of the name is used to determine if it is a string ($) or a numeric (%).
    I can force the type passing specific type (see M_Pi) but I missed to specify the type for M_Zero.
    And it had no % in front of the name so variable was skipped.

    Variable_ADD_Equate "M_Pi"          , ""      , 3.141592653589793##, %ArrayType_Ext
    Variable_ADD_Equate "M_e"           , ""      , 2.718281828459045##, %ArrayType_Ext
    Variable_ADD_Equate "M_Zero"        , ""      , 0##
    Variable_ADD_Equate "%Zero"         , ""      , 0##
    
    Now I've change to:
    Variable_ADD_Equate "M_Zero"        , ""      , 0##, %ArrayType_Ext
    
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  2. #12
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,128
    Rep Power
    732
    Eros,

    do you think you would have time to fill in the documentation for Year, Month, Day, Hour, Minute, Second, Now functions?
    The first 6 seem to cooperate nicely with Now, but not with Date$ for example (Month returns Day actually).

    It is also possible to call Year, Month, Day, Hour, Minute, Second without arguments, but then they return zero.
    What about making them return components of Now directly instead.

    Use case:
    I wake up with question in my mind "Oh my god, what year is this?" and calling Year would give me answer...


    Petr
    Last edited by Petr Schreiber; 05-11-2015 at 08:22.
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  3. #13
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Petr Schreiber View Post
    do you think you would have time to fill in the documentation for Year, Month, Day, Hour, Minute, Second, Now functions?
    The first 6 seem to cooperate nicely with Now, but not with Date$ for example (Month returns Day actually).

    It is also possible to call Year, Month, Day, Hour, Minute, Second without arguments, but then they return zero.
    What about making them return components of Now directly instead.
    Sure, next version will have.


    Quote Originally Posted by Petr Schreiber View Post
    Use case:
    I wake up with question in my mind "Oh my god, what year is this?" and calling Year would give me answer...
    To have such a wake up needs, it means you had a nasty night, isn't it?
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  4. #14
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10
    Damn! You are much better than me in programming ... grrrr

    Using this thread for your project does not give merit to your work.
    This post will pass but it would be nice your code remain as a project.


    If you like, I can create a dedicated forum for this project under http://www.thinbasic.com/community/f...-User-projects
    If yes, just give me the name and forum will your as moderator.
    Last edited by ErosOlmi; 05-11-2015 at 20:08.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  5. #15
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,128
    Rep Power
    732
    Little bug found - not a serious one, as it can be workarounded, but it is change from 1.9.15.0 behavior:
    Function TBMain()
    
      If TRUE Then
        Stop
      End If           
    
    End Function
    
    ...the STOP will cause MSGBOX error. It is also interesting, that it causes no error at all, if used outside function:
    If TRUE Then
      Stop
    End If
    

    Petr
    Last edited by Petr Schreiber; 10-11-2015 at 20:10.
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  6. #16
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,128
    Rep Power
    732
    Eros,

    to prove we take stability of ThinBASIC seriously, I think it is good idea to keep the regression set public at GitHub.
    I have already started this here: https://github.com/ErosOlmi/ThinBASI...ssion/1.9.16.x

    Simple rules:
    - one directory with tests per version A.B.C.x (in this case 1.9.16.x)
    - one tests_<module>_<feature>.tBasicU file in tests directory per command/feature (in this case tests_Core_ArrayExtract.tBasicU, ...)
    - tests can be launched easily from the root of version folder (in this case by running regression_1_9_16_X.tBasicU)
    -- it performs automatic test discovery, so just adding files to tests folder following the tests_<module>_<feature>.tBasicU pattern is enough.

    Try to run, it will show problems with Array Extract and Contains I recently discovered + 1 more.

    This way it will be easier to check we did not break anything in future + allows users who want to join to get creative and broaden the regression set.


    Petr
    Last edited by Petr Schreiber; 10-11-2015 at 21:24.
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  7. #17
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Petr Schreiber View Post
    Little bug found - not a serious one, as it can be workarounded, but it is change from 1.9.15.0 behavior:
    Function TBMain()
    
      If TRUE Then
        Stop
      End If           
    
    End Function
    
    ...the STOP will cause MSGBOX error. It is also interesting, that it causes no error at all, if used outside function:
    If TRUE Then
      Stop
    End If
    

    Petr
    Fixed will be present in next release.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  8. #18
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Petr Schreiber View Post
    Eros,

    to prove we take stability of ThinBASIC seriously, I think it is good idea to keep the regression set public at GitHub.
    I have already started this here: https://github.com/ErosOlmi/ThinBASI...ssion/1.9.16.x

    Simple rules:
    - one directory with tests per version A.B.C.x (in this case 1.9.16.x)
    - one tests_<module>_<feature>.tBasicU file in tests directory per command/feature (in this case tests_Core_ArrayExtract.tBasicU, ...)
    - tests can be launched easily from the root of version folder (in this case by running regression_1_9_16_X.tBasicU)
    -- it performs automatic test discovery, so just adding files to tests folder following the tests_<module>_<feature>.tBasicU pattern is enough.

    Try to run, it will show problems with Array Extract and Contains I recently discovered + 1 more.

    This way it will be easier to check we did not break anything in future + allows users who want to join to get creative and broaden the regression set.


    Petr
    I need to have some rest and put my head a little bit more concentrated on this.
    Give me some day to check it, in the meantime please go on.
    I will check examples and fix in the meantime.

    Eros
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  9. #19
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Petr Schreiber View Post
    Eros,

    to prove we take stability of ThinBASIC seriously, I think it is good idea to keep the regression set public at GitHub.
    I have already started this here: https://github.com/ErosOlmi/ThinBASI...ssion/1.9.16.x

    Simple rules:
    - one directory with tests per version A.B.C.x (in this case 1.9.16.x)
    - one tests_<module>_<feature>.tBasicU file in tests directory per command/feature (in this case tests_Core_ArrayExtract.tBasicU, ...)
    - tests can be launched easily from the root of version folder (in this case by running regression_1_9_16_X.tBasicU)
    -- it performs automatic test discovery, so just adding files to tests folder following the tests_<module>_<feature>.tBasicU pattern is enough.

    Try to run, it will show problems with Array Extract and Contains I recently discovered + 1 more.

    This way it will be easier to check we did not break anything in future + allows users who want to join to get creative and broaden the regression set.


    Petr
    Petr,

    I've put my single neuron into the matter of Unit Testing
    I got it in the general form and I'm with you in creating such a units.
    Not so easy to maintain and to develop all cases but you are right, we need to go on in this way.

    In the meantime ...
    I've fixed ARRAY EXTRACT ... Contains ... found in Unit testing
    I will release 1.9.16.3 by tomorrow I hope.
    Last edited by ErosOlmi; 10-11-2015 at 23:27.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  10. #20
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10
    Updated to 1.9.16.3
    See first post in this thread

    Some bug fixed:
    • Array Extract
    • Stop
    • thinAir User Help menu
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •