Page 20 of 21 FirstFirst ... 1018192021 LastLast
Results 191 to 200 of 203

Thread: thinBASIC 1.9.16.X

  1. #191
    Senior Member catventure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    576
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by ErosOlmi View Post
    thinBASIC updated to 1.9.16.17
    Complete list of changes at http://www.thinbasic.com/public/prod..._1_9_16_17.htm
    Download link in first post of this thread or in Main web site page.

    I'm going to 2 weeks holidays, do not know if I will have connection

    Ciao
    Eros.
    Thanks for latest update and all the new stuff! Enjoy your holiday.

    Catventure.
    http://tab.thinbasic.com - Home Of The ThinBasic Adventure Builder Project. (Interactive Fiction/Text Adventure Maker)
    TAB Forum - http://adventure.rpgdynasty.com/
    TAB Email Group - http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/TAB_IF_CREATOR/

  2. #192
    i have installed the new version, with its huge number of functions it is suitable for educational and scientific research. so now i have 2 versions on my hard disk : 1.9.16.17 and older one 1.8.9.0 . i have noticed there is a Pow function which is a C function in addition to the original '^' pow operator. it seems added after version 1.8.9.0
    i don't like Pow since the '^' is easier to use but Pow can be useful also when copying math code from other sources using C syntax.
    there is just one Basic there, which have Pow but not '^' and this is contradicting the Basic spirit. even the oldest basics have '^' : possibly they don't know how to implement the Pow as '^'
    thanks Eros for the Update , and happy holiday
    Last edited by primo; 16-08-2016 at 17:28.

  3. #193
    thinBasic MVPs Michael Hartlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leverkusen, Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,278
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    339
    Thanks for the update. As soon i have access to my PC, i will test the installation against my virus check.

    Have a great vacation.

  4. #194
    thinBasic MVPs Michael Hartlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leverkusen, Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,278
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    339
    Hi Eros,

    Avira AntiVir Free didn't complain now with the new version of thinBasic. Thank you!!

  5. #195
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    6,790
    Blog Entries
    3
    Rep Power
    693
    Thanks Michael,

    this has been bothering us for a while, good to know the situation is getting better!


    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 7 64bit - Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 @ 2.2GHz - 4 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce G210M 512MB
    Windows 8 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 8 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT640 3GB

  6. #196
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,218
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    133
    there's still some debug-msg-box that appears if we have some invalid code.
    Simple example:

    ' i just omit the window-handle-parameter
    
    MsgBox "hello", %MB_OK, "we error on purpose"
    
    [TABLE="class: tblf1 tblf-fullwidth tblf-alternate"]
    [TR]
    [TD][COLOR=#b22222][B][SIZE=1]The limit is[/SIZE][/B][/COLOR][/TD]
    [TD="class: isRelinked"] [COLOR=#0000cd][B][SIZE=1]Imagination[/SIZE][/B][/COLOR][/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

  7. #197
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,171
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks.
    It is not a debug message box but thinBasic think first parameter is the handle of the parent window and try to transform message text into a number.

    Anyway, next thinBasic version will have parent window handle as optional. New syntax will be:
    Result = MSGBOX([hParent,] Message [, Style [, Title [, Timeout [, UpdateCountDown, [, CountDownFormat ] ]] ] ] )
    
    So:
    '---No parent window
    Msgbox 0, "Test"
    
    and
    '---hwndParent is the handle of the parent window
    Msgbox hwndParent, "Test"
    
    and
    '---No parent window, just message box
    Msgbox "Test"
    
    Will be the parsed correctly.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  8. #198
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,218
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    133
    Since when can static udt-subelements be dynamic string?

    I just tried out and i'm surprised. I never read an announcement about it and my opinion was, static udt-subelements in thinBasic can not be strings but i just tested it and found proof that i was wrong,

    Type tTest
      Static sName As String
    
      Function _Create(ByVal sName As String)
        Me.sName = sName
      End Function
      
      Function TellYourName() As String
        Function = Me.sName
      End Function
    End Type               
    
    Function TBMain()
    
       Local dummy As tTest("Frank")
       
       MsgBox 0, dummy.TellYourName, %MB_OK, "My name is"
       
    End Function
    
    btw. TBMain in this example still appears to be a function of tTest in codebrowser
    [TABLE="class: tblf1 tblf-fullwidth tblf-alternate"]
    [TR]
    [TD][COLOR=#b22222][B][SIZE=1]The limit is[/SIZE][/B][/COLOR][/TD]
    [TD="class: isRelinked"] [COLOR=#0000cd][B][SIZE=1]Imagination[/SIZE][/B][/COLOR][/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

  9. #199
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Naples, Florida & Duluth, Georgia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    3,869
    Rep Power
    397

    atan2 error, posting here as I could not insert an image in the bug entry sub forum

    I tested the atan2 function against online calculators and their answer does not match that of thinBasic's.
    Check the image to see clearly this problem. Thanks.

    Uses "Console"
    Uses "Math"
    Single angle = ATAN2(1, 3)
    
    PrintL Str$(angle,6)
    PrintL "Press a key to end program"
    WaitKey
    
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Atan2Error.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	72.1 KB 
ID:	9687

    Also arccos is not working correctly.
    Uses "Console"
    Uses "Math"
    Single angle = ArcCos ( .983869910099907 )
    
    PrintL Str$(angle,6)
    PrintL "Press a key to end program"
    WaitKey
    
    The image shows it better.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	arcCosError.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	82.9 KB 
ID:	9688
    Last edited by kryton9; 10-05-2017 at 01:35.
    Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

  10. #200
    kryton9, i check the atan2 only, will check the other later, thinbasic result in degrees while in online calc in radians. if we change to
    angle = DegToRad(ATAN2(3, 1))
    the answer wll be like online calc: 1.24904
    https://www.easycalculation.com/trig...calculator.php

    edit: i depends on the picture: it is written: angle = ATAN2(3, 1)
    Last edited by primo; 10-05-2017 at 06:04.

Page 20 of 21 FirstFirst ... 1018192021 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •