Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 60

Thread: TBGL-3d-Editor [Announcement]

Share/Bookmark
  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    113
    Rep Power
    22

    TBGL3dEd_test.exe virus

    ReneMiner,

    My AVG finds an unknown virus in TBGL3dEd_test.exe. I was hoping
    to try your editor. Could you please confirm?

    Thanks,

    Bill

    P.S. I tried again and my computer re-booted. BTW. It was the small
    thinbasic.exe file after the breakout that AVG finds the unknown virus.
    Anyway, this time it ran. I clicked on "File" and nothing happened, I could
    not get it to run. I exited the program. Now I will not run again and will
    not let me delete it. I put the program in its own directory; not in thinBasic.
    Last edited by Billbo; 15-04-2013 at 18:05.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    6,776
    Blog Entries
    3
    Rep Power
    690
    I tested the EXE file using ESET NOD32 and no problem was found.
    I think antivirus could be confused by the Bundle nature of the EXE.

    I will try using AVAST later this night.

    Usually, when in doubt, I send the EXE file to support of my antivirus solution vendor. This way ESET for example stopped the false positive warnings for Oxygen module.


    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 7 64bit - Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 @ 2.2GHz - 4 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce G210M 512MB
    Windows 8 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 8 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT640 3GB

  3. #13
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,113
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Bill,

    can you please indicate the exact virus name AVG reports? Any log?
    We had similar problems in the past mainly due to the fact that all thinBasic executable and libraries are compressed using UPX.
    Case by case I contacted directly the AV support center and all cases were false positive.

    Thanks in advance.
    Eros
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  4. #14
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,214
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    132
    Really sorry if you have some trouble- but there can not be any virus inside. A few months ago I had troubles with free Avira & thinBasic too.
    Other users of this forum - which I think have real good antivirus-software on their systems - did not have any troubles into this direction - and I think they would have posted here if so.

    Edit:Now here it is. Still undone, but I won't keep any suspicions alive here, and I've nothing to hide.
    It's almost the same (I added a little bit today at textboxes and commented a little bit for future readers - nothing else changed - ok, the console I disabled in the .exe but that's all what's different) - you might bundle it yourself to test.

    This is property of thinBasic-community now. Personal use or use for free thinBasic-Project ist explicitely allowed.
    Commercial use is not allowed without permission and will only be given in exceptional cases.
    ,
    means you have to bribe Eros with at least 100.000 €
    Edit: Sorry, there's another bunch of cash needed for Petr who made TBGL, so make it 200.000 €


    Attention: You need minimal Version 1.9.5.0 to run this from thinAir. It uses the latest features.

    Check out first post of this thread for download
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 15-04-2013 at 20:06.
    Windows 10 on
    Desktop: Intel Core i5-3330 @3.0 GHz, 8 GB Ram, nVidia GeForce GT630 2 GB
    Laptop: Intel Core i3-4005U @1.7GHz, 8 GB Ram, nVidia GeForce 940M 2 GB


    The limit is Imagination

  5. #15
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,113
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    10
    Rene,

    your generosity to publish source of your project merit a dedicated post and not attached here at page ... whatever.

    Better to rewrite the very first initial post in this thread and give great merit to your hard hard work.
    All other posts should point to there.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | psch.thinbasic.com
    Win10Pro 64bit - 8GB Ram - Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz - NVIDIA Quadro FX1800M 1GB

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    113
    Rep Power
    22

    Virus name

    ErosOlmi,

    As I indicated in my initial reply, AVG showed "Unknown". No report.
    No virus problem on the last attachment.

    Bill

    Rene,

    I created a "Project" directory under thinBasic. Then "TBGL3dEd"
    under it and unzipped last attachment into it. I ran the "MAIN" file,
    and "No" to full screen. The program runs, but only shows files
    with the TBGL3dEd extention when you try to load a file. But, it
    does not load anything.

    Bill

  7. #17
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,214
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    132
    What Windows? XP below SP2? Is impossible.

    And- as already said- you need thinBaisc-Version 1.9.5.0

    Edit: Attachement removed, refer to first post of this thread for latest version
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 17-04-2013 at 12:04.
    Windows 10 on
    Desktop: Intel Core i5-3330 @3.0 GHz, 8 GB Ram, nVidia GeForce GT630 2 GB
    Laptop: Intel Core i3-4005U @1.7GHz, 8 GB Ram, nVidia GeForce 940M 2 GB


    The limit is Imagination

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    113
    Rep Power
    22

    TBGL3dEd

    Rene,

    I am running 1.9.5.0. On an HP laptop, Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit.
    BTW. What's the console window in the background showing processes
    every time you hit a key?

    I downloaded you update and updated mine. It still does not load anything.
    Now, I have the "tbasic" extention default to thinBasic on my system. I had
    double-clicked on MAIN to run it. Should I run it from within thinBasic?

    Bill

  9. #19
    thinBasic MVPs ReneMiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,214
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    132
    see above or first post for fixed version... I made some comment inside where not should be one- so the line got ignored

    EDIT: I changed first post after posted this. So might be you were faster than I was and downloaded old version from first post...

    Console is for Debug. It's still not done- You can disable it and go in MAIN, Sub MAIN_DrawFrame()
    Comment lines 266 to 274 but 273 (sDebug ="" leave in to delete debug-messages from memory) - and remove Uses "Console" from top of script.
    If you do this also comment line 94( Console_Free), otherwise you'll get a crash if you click cancel on the Fullscreen-Question)

    Yes you should run in thinAir. If you experiance some bug you'll receive some message where/which line the code is wrong. I would be interested in line and done actions...
    Last edited by ReneMiner; 16-04-2013 at 10:15.
    Windows 10 on
    Desktop: Intel Core i5-3330 @3.0 GHz, 8 GB Ram, nVidia GeForce GT630 2 GB
    Laptop: Intel Core i3-4005U @1.7GHz, 8 GB Ram, nVidia GeForce 940M 2 GB


    The limit is Imagination

  10. #20
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    6,776
    Blog Entries
    3
    Rep Power
    690
    Thanks a lot for sharing the code Rene!

    I must admit your TBGL GUI is the most complex one I have seen so far in user (and heck, even mine!) TBGL projects. Job well done


    Petr

    P.S. As promised, I did a test using Avast antivirus. When launching the bundle, Avast rates the behavior as suspicious, although for unknown reason. Avast is developed in Prague, AVG in Brno, which is city where I live.
    I will email both companies to explain the bundle behavior and avoid possible "scared user syndrome" in future.

    EDIT Emails sent, awaiting reply from Avast/AVG
    Last edited by Petr Schreiber; 15-04-2013 at 21:06.
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 7 64bit - Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 @ 2.2GHz - 4 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce G210M 512MB
    Windows 8 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 8 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT640 3GB

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. something that could become a 3d-editor
    By ReneMiner in forum TBGL Scripts and Projects
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-03-2013, 18:25
  2. ThinAIR editor
    By RobertoBianchi in forum Announcements
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2008, 18:27
  3. What editor?
    By Michael Clease in forum Fixed or cleared errors in help material
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 31-10-2007, 04:19
  4. Announcement: new slogan for thinBasic
    By ErosOlmi in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19-09-2007, 07:04
  5. [IDE] SED Editor
    By José Roca in forum Power Basic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-07-2007, 20:07

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •