Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: is this example destinated for a class for converting into thinbasic?

  1. #1

    is this example destinated for a class for converting into thinbasic?

    this code example I've found from freebasic manual. I'm only asking if this example has to be translated as class/method ? or there's another way (oop like) to convert this example?

       ' Empty GUI script created on 01-31-2013 13:26:32 by  (thinAir)
     Uses "console"
     
    
     Type sample
     
    
       Texty As String
     
    
       Declare Constructor ()
       Declare Constructor ( a As Integer )
       Declare Constructor ( a As Single  )
       Declare Constructor ( a As String, b As Byte )
     
    
       Declare Operator Cast () As String
     End Type
     
    
     Constructor sample ()
       Print "Konstruktor sample ()"
       Print
       THIS.Texty = "Leer"
     End Constructor
     
    
     Constructor sample ( a As Integer )
       Print "Konstruktor sample ( a As Integer )"
       Print "  a = "; a
       Print
       THIS.Texty = Str(a)
     End Constructor
     
    
     Constructor sample ( a As Single )
       Print "Konstruktor sample ( a As Single )"
       Print "  a = "; a
       Print
       THIS.Texty = Str(a)
     End Constructor
     
    
     Constructor sample ( a As String, b As Byte )
       Print "Konstruktor sample ( a As String, b As Byte )"
       Print "  a = "; a
       Print "  b = "; b
       Print
       THIS.Texty = Str(a) + "," + Str(b)
     End Constructor
     
    
     
    
     Operator sample.Cast () As String
       Return THIS.Texty
     End Operator
     
    
     Print "Erstelle x1" ' (build x1)
     Dim x1 As sample
     
    
     Print "Erstelle x2" ' (build x2)
     Dim x2 As sample = 1
     
    
     Print "Erstelle x3" ' (build x3)
     Dim x3 As sample = 99.9
     
    
     Print "Erstelle x4" ' (build x4)
     Dim x4 As sample = sample( "aaa", 1 )
     
    
     Print "Values:"
     Print "  x1 = "; x1
     Print "  x2 = "; x2
     Print "  x3 = "; x3
     Print "  x4 = "; x4
     'Sleep
     WaitKey
    

    bye, largo

  2. #2
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10
    thinBasic has no OOP constructs so you must go with usual procedural programming way
    Uses "console"
    
    Type sample
      Texty As String
    End Type
    
    PrintL "Erstelle x1" ' (build x1)
    Dim x1 As sample
    
    PrintL "Erstelle x2" ' (build x2)
    Dim x2 As sample
    x2.Texty = 1
    
    PrintL "Erstelle x3" ' (build x3)
    Dim x3 As sample
    x3.Texty = 99.9
    
    PrintL "Erstelle x4" ' (build x4)
    Dim x4 As sample
    x4.Texty = "aaa" & "," & 1
    
    PrintL "Values:"
    PrintL "  x1 = ", x1.Texty
    PrintL "  x2 = ", x2.Texty
    PrintL "  x3 = ", x3.Texty
    PrintL "  x4 = ", x4.Texty
    'Sleep
    WaitKey
    
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    406
    Rep Power
    56
    In comparison to this OOP crap, your demo is a blessing!
    Well done, Eros.

  4. #4
    thank you eros for your answer, never I've seen before such a silly construct like in freebasic for shorten and cutting so simple into thinbasic! bye, largo

  5. #5
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,777
    Rep Power
    10
    I think that FreeBasic example was not created to complicate something simple but to show how to construct a FreeBasic Class with different Constructors overloading and class casting.

    Is indeed quite interesting and shows of a possible way to implement OOP.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

Similar Threads

  1. creating my own class
    By ReneMiner in forum thinBasic General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-11-2012, 20:07
  2. converting question from c++ to powerbasic
    By Lionheart008 in forum C / C++
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-06-2012, 11:22
  3. How to run a Dot Net 4.0 class from Powerbasic
    By zak in forum Software discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-12-2011, 11:27
  4. Help converting this math formula into code, please.
    By kryton9 in forum Math: all about
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 06-12-2010, 04:00
  5. How to use asciiz inside a class?
    By efgee in forum O2h Compiler
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-09-2010, 20:20

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •