Thread: Free Will

Free Will

I absolutely feel that I have free will. And, I absolutely want it to be true that humans do in fact have free will. But, I am perplexed about how free will could be possible.

I'm no expert on this subject. I haven't read any of the books written on it.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...e+will&x=0&y=0

There is a debate (I think both philosophical and scientific) about whether or not humans have free will. From what I know, on one side are those who intuitively feel that they have it. They feel that they make decisions all day, every day of their lives. They feel that when they do something, they had a choice, i.e., they could have chosen to do something else. For instance, if they come home from work, and turn on the TV, they feel they decided to do it, they could have chosen not to do it.

I think that those on the other side of the debate would say, that, for instance, if someone comes home and turns on the TV, then, he could not have not turned it on then. In other words, according to the free will deniers, if time could be replayed over and over infinitely, human history would always be exactly the same, down to the tiniest detail. If at 3:09:47 PM, on 2011-02-09, I was at a particular place, talking to a particular person, and said, "Are those new shoes?", then, no matter how many times history was replayed (let's say) from the day of my birth, then, at 3:09:47 PM, on 2011-02-09, I would always be at the same place, talking to the same person, and in each instance would say, "Are those new shoes?". So, every "choice" I ever made, would always be exactly the same. I think the free will deniers use that speculation as evidence that free will is not more than imaginary. I think that for the free will deniers, the feeling of free will that humans seemingly all have, is only a feeling, and, is not an indicator of fact.