Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Windows 95

  1. #1
    Member JosephE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Age
    24
    Posts
    85
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    16

    Windows 95

    Well I dug up my old Windows 95 laptop my dad let us play with when I was younger. It's what I learned to program on. Ah, memories...good 'ol days, when I learned how computers worked by just playing with one.

    Well, I noticed it has a serial ports, and several other odd looking ports that I must be too young to recognize, and some sort of PCI slot or something. I'd like to connect this thing to my network, which is hardwired with ethernet and wireless b/g. It doesn't have an ethernet port or anything that looks like a phone connector thingy.

    I'm wondering what kind of hardware I need to get it up on my network, and if there are drivers for Windows 95 for it. Or is this not even possible...

    I'm sure you guys that are older than me would know. I feel so, uh, young when I think about Windows 95...I was like 3 when it came out... :P

  2. #2
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,427
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    153

    Re: Windows 95

    Hello Joe, can you tell us the Make and Model of the laptop so we can look it up

    I think you might have some issues with trying to network a win95 machine to a XP/Vista/7 network if you can get hold of a win98 2nd or even ME at least you will get some sort of USB support.

    Mike


    Home Desktop : Windows 7 - Intel Pentium (D) - 3.0 Ghz - 2GB - Geforce 6800GS
    Home Laptop : WinXP Pro SP3 - Intel Centrino Duo - 1.73 Ghz - 2 GB - Intel GMA 950
    Home Laptop : Windows 10 - Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz, 2401 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s) - 4 GB - Intel HD 4400
    Work Desktop : Windows 10 - Intel I7 - 4 Ghz - 8GB - Quadro Fx 370

  3. #3
    Member JosephE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Age
    24
    Posts
    85
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Windows 95

    Sure! NEC Versa 6260.

    It does have a USB. My network has XP and 7 computers running on it. We hate vista.

  4. #4
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,427
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    153

    Re: Windows 95

    From what I can find it looks like it doesnt have a network adapter fitted but you could get a pcmcia card as it has two ports.

    I would recommend a usb wifi device but I dont think you will find one that supports win95.

    try Ebay for an old card
    Home Desktop : Windows 7 - Intel Pentium (D) - 3.0 Ghz - 2GB - Geforce 6800GS
    Home Laptop : WinXP Pro SP3 - Intel Centrino Duo - 1.73 Ghz - 2 GB - Intel GMA 950
    Home Laptop : Windows 10 - Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz, 2401 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s) - 4 GB - Intel HD 4400
    Work Desktop : Windows 10 - Intel I7 - 4 Ghz - 8GB - Quadro Fx 370

  5. #5
    thinBasic MVPs kryton9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Naples, Florida & Duluth, Georgia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    3,869
    Rep Power
    397
    Acer Notebook: Win 10 Home 64 Bit, Core i7-4702MQ @ 2.2Ghz, 12 GB RAM, nVidia GTX 760M and Intel HD 4600
    Raspberry Pi 3: Raspbian OS use for Home Samba Server and Test HTTP Server

  6. #6
    Member JosephE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Age
    24
    Posts
    85
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Windows 95

    @Michael, I actually got an old Xircom PCICIA to LAN (ethernet) from a computer shop that they had lying around. I found the drivers, but I couldn't ever get it to work in Windows 95. And I'm really good at installing drivers.

    So, I'm putting Windows 98 Special Edition on this laptop as I write...

  7. #7
    Member JosephE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Age
    24
    Posts
    85
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Windows 95

    Well nothing has worked so far. :/ So i'm going to try getting a different PCMCIA network card.

  8. #8
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,427
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    153

    Re: Windows 95

    Whats the problem?

    Does windows actually see the card?
    Are the cardbus drivers installed?
    Home Desktop : Windows 7 - Intel Pentium (D) - 3.0 Ghz - 2GB - Geforce 6800GS
    Home Laptop : WinXP Pro SP3 - Intel Centrino Duo - 1.73 Ghz - 2 GB - Intel GMA 950
    Home Laptop : Windows 10 - Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz, 2401 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s) - 4 GB - Intel HD 4400
    Work Desktop : Windows 10 - Intel I7 - 4 Ghz - 8GB - Quadro Fx 370

  9. #9
    Member JosephE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Age
    24
    Posts
    85
    Blog Entries
    5
    Rep Power
    16

    Re: Windows 95

    I never could find the appropriate drivers. There were ones on the site, but it always said to refer to the cd that came with the product, and of course, I don't have it. :P

  10. #10
    thinBasic MVPs
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,427
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    153

    Re: Windows 95

    Here is an option that might solve your issue.

    Hardware can be badged by anyone but the chipset inside can be the same so if you look up the vender ID and Device ID you could find generic drivers.

    The is the dlink PCMCIA wireless card in my laptop

    PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_0013&SUBSYS_32021186&REV_01\5&2FF86CB7&0&0030A4

    Rather than me explain I will let someone else do it

    http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/how-to-...dor-device-id/

    http://www.pcidatabase.com/

    good luck

    Mike

    Home Desktop : Windows 7 - Intel Pentium (D) - 3.0 Ghz - 2GB - Geforce 6800GS
    Home Laptop : WinXP Pro SP3 - Intel Centrino Duo - 1.73 Ghz - 2 GB - Intel GMA 950
    Home Laptop : Windows 10 - Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz, 2401 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s) - 4 GB - Intel HD 4400
    Work Desktop : Windows 10 - Intel I7 - 4 Ghz - 8GB - Quadro Fx 370

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Windows on Mac Pro
    By jack in forum Shout Box Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-03-2011, 00:44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •